Yarn Along — A knitting buddy?

yarnalongbutton1-003

img_3807

Gratuitous baby picture to start this post!

img_3851

She’s at long last filling out those booties I knit her this summer!  She’s in them as often as I can find both of the pair!

I’m at that stage of Christmas preparations where despite my early shopping and all my early plans, I still feel a week behind and like there’s a thick fog between me and Christmas with zero hope of accomplishing anything.  I’m still on the first of Haus Meister’s two socks. I’m still wrapping presents.  I’m on the “G” page in our address book for Christmas cards.  The jam hasn’t been made, and the cookies are still in potential (I have the ingredients, but haven’t put it all together).

And then Miss M, chatting to me while coming home from errands tonight, whines that Christmas is taking soooooo looooong to get here. I could use another week of prep, myself. 😉

I say this to dispel the notion that I have it all together. But let’s talk yarn now.

img_3809

I took this picture last week for a Yarn Along post that never got written.  I’m about ten rows further on that sock, mainly because little hands got at it and took out the needles about twice a day. The little stockings are two of the four ornament stockings I did finish and will have in four of my children’s St. Nicholas stockings in Dec. 2017.  I am putting a note in my August 2017 planner to start the other five that very month.  Maybe I will put it back until July. That sounds reasonable. See–positive thinking.  I’m not late for 2016 but ahead for 2017!  Right, I don’t buy it either, but it sounds good! 🙂

img_3758

Now that bright variegated ball of yarn?  That belongs to our Princess!  Princess came across this book on her shelves and decided she really wanted to learn to knit.  So when we had our visit from St. Nicholas, there was a ball of yarn in her stocking as well as her very very very own first pair of circular needles and stitch markers! She did recognize the yarn as a ball we had dyed using KoolAid something like two years ago, but she didn’t mind and was thrilled with the gift.

img_3810

She wanted me to help her start this project that very morning, so we did.  A week later, she’s still excited about it, and still knitting!  She has her own little workbag, made by her Grandma out of fabric that has adorable geese on it.  So she totes her work around, upstairs, downstairs, to Grandma’s house, etc. Grandma and I have both helped with “damage control,” and the little hat definitely has an endearingly lopsided appearance under Princess’ nimble little fingers.  I’m pretty sure she accidentally taught herself short rows at one point and reverse stockinette in another, but for the most part she’s getting the hang of it.

img_4054

At this point, and so early in her knitting career, I didn’t have it in me to make her take out all the stitches and redo those spots.  She has ambitions for this hat and a deadline to meet, and I didn’t want to dampen her enthusiasm. I might be stricter with the next project, but at the moment I’m waiting to see if there will be a next project.  I’d love to have a knitting buddy!

img_3874

Here’s the book that has been my mainstay this Advent.  I am going to miss this devotional.  I want something like it for every day of the year!  On top of it is a fun mug I received from one of the mothers in our American Heritage Girl Troop (we had a Christmas party and sock gift exchange for the leaders and parent volunteers).  She even made me a darling Swedish Goat felt ornament, because as with every Advent I’m still checking on this guy:

bocken (1).jpg

A little smaller this year, as the usual huge Goat was burned down on the first Sunday of Advent.

So, anyway, up there’s my devotional, my coffee mug, and my husband’s Christmas present.  Because as I said before, it’s God, my husband, and coffee that gets me through.

And knitting.

((And yes, mom, being able to call/text my mom and sister, but a phone would really have not looked good in that picture. ;)))

Leave a Reply

