The Pumpkin Costume 🎃

Once upon a time, October 2003, I was out on a mission.  Haus Meister was at our apartment studying with some fellow engineering students (he graduated with his engineering degree in Dec. 2003, having been to Christendom with me for two years and then doing four years of engineering classes at UTC in two and a half years), so I had an evening to myself. I decided to hit the mall and get a Halloween costume I’d seen in the Gymboree window.

Now, I was expecting Trooper at this time but it was before I had even any idea that he was a he.  I just knew I loved that little costume and I really wanted to get it lest it not be available the following year (for the record, it wasn’t available in store).  That I could look for it on eBay when I needed it also didn’t occur to me at that time.  I went to the store that weeknight in October when things were pretty empty.  The eager saleslady, no doubt seeing a sucker, talked me into not only the costume and hat but the coordinating socks and a black sweatshirt and pants to go with it.

I then had to go home and justify to my husband why I spent $60 on our unborn baby’s future Halloween at a time in our lives when our budget prohibited going within 10 miles of any mall in the first place.

But he was a good sport, and nine children have now worn at least part of that costume at some point! The socks didn’t make it past Princess, but the little boys wore that sweats outfit often and it was still good enough to pass on.  In the end, it wasn’t such a bad bargain.

And how cute is it to see the same costume on the littlest?

Trooper, Halloween 2004

img_2299

Rosebud, Halloween 2016

img_2290

 

Leave a Reply

