Yarn Along: Hats

yarnalongbutton1-003

IMG_8473

“Hello, world.  My mama has been busy the last eighteen days making hats for me.  Here’s a newsflash, though…. I’m not sure I like hats!  Or napping in my crib, either.”

Isn’t she a precious little Rosebud?  We think so.  She’s been home since the afternoon of the 4th and to be honest we can’t get enough of her.

And if she doesn’t like hats, no matter.  She’s got that hair.

The first hat I cast on (18 days ago), was the Coriolis Hat.  I had finished the newborn booties and wanted another project to quickly finish, whiling away the time.  I cast on the hat on Saturday evening, June 18. In the wee hours of Sunday morning I found it to be a soothing distraction while timing contractions. Sunday afternoon, my husband snapped an amusing picture of me knitting in the L & D room post-epidural.

Attachment-1

I finished it a few hours after our sweet daughter arrived!

IMG_7917

Knowing we were going to have to wait to bring her home, I began another hat while in the hospital.  My in-laws had given me a book purchased at the Dutch Oven Yarn Shoppe in Alanson, MI, a special place to the family  (well, the Dutch Oven Bakery, if not the Yarn Shoppe), so I cast on another hat from that book.

IMG_7956

The cookie was a consolation from Haus Meister, who got to go get artisan breakfast sandwiches from the coffee place in the lobby while I had hospital food. 😉

This past weekend, I finished the hat.  Here is how it will look when I’ve sewn on the flower and button.

IMG_8255

Hat: Knit Picks Shine Sport in “Sailor”

Flower: using up the skein of Knit Picks Shine Sport in “Blush”

It was nice in a way that I hadn’t sewn on the flower before she was discharged because it ended up matching the red & navy blue outfit she wore home from the hospital on July 4th.

IMG_8394

And here’s one of Rosebud today wearing Coriolis to her first pediatrician appointment (our pediatrician also enjoys knitting/crochet and always asks what I’m working on when I bring someone in).

IMG_8465

 

We haven’t slowed up our reading much, so here’s the latest reads in the family.

Haus Meister: The Hunt for Red October

Haus Frau: Force Ten from Navarone (ok, I liked both Navarone books by Alastair McLean. That author may make a spy novel reader out of me yet)

Trooper: was listening to “The Cottage at Bantry Bay” on Audible.

Rascal: Henry and the Paper Route

Dino: Nobody likes a Goblin (his new favorite Hatke book)

Princess: Simple Pictures are Best

Sunshine & Miss M: How to make an Apple Pie and see the World

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Yarn Along: Hats

  1. Your knitted hats are adorable and I can’t imagine your Rosebud not liking them. 🙂 She’s adorable. Congratulations on Rosebud’s birth and finally bringing her home! What joy!

Leave a Reply

