Yarn Along: Summer Reading

yarnalongbutton1-003

Knitting! I’ve been knitting!  Last night I finished the Newborn Hat with a Touch of Lace, although I hope it shrinks because it seems I totally made it too large.  Serves me right; I didn’t exactly gauge it because, well, impatient.

FullSizeRender

This morning I cast on the Perfect Fit Newborn Socks, both in Knit Picks Shine Sport Blush. I took it along to my OB appointment because I like to be the gal knitting in the ob/gyn office like you see in the 1950s-60s movies (“Pillow Talk” comes to mind).  I had the chance to see Munchkin 2 today and asked my doctor if it’s definitely “go” to still knit pink.

IMG_6988

He said, “Yep. Absolutely.”

I had had my doubts about that early sonogram.  This just hadn’t felt like a “girl” pregnancy.  However, clearly my intuition was wrong, and since it has rarely been right, who’s surprised?  😉

We simply just can’t wait to meet the newest Princess of the Haus, who already has our hearts in her tiny hands.

And now for books.

I’ve been keeping up with the Modern Mrs. Darcy Reading Challenge.

January: A book published this year. “Spark Joy” by Marie Kondo.

February: A book recommended by your local librarian or bookseller. “The Life-Giving Home” by Sally Clarkson.

March: A book recommended by your BFF, sibling, etc: “Pistols for Two” by Georgette Heyer.

April: A book you’ve been meaning to read: “The Trim Healthy Mama Plan.”  I credit my pregnancy health–and passing the glucose screen–to this book.

May: A book that’s been banned: The Call of the Wild by Jack London.

Also May: A book that intimidates you: Kristin Lavransdatter by Sigrid Undset.

Why in the world did that book intimidate? Because in the past several years every time I heard it highly recommended, it came with the caveat that I wouldn’t be able to put it down.  When do I have the time to read an non-put-downable Norse saga?!  So I avoided it. Until this year.  I was going to save it for the hospital since I anticipated at least a bit of down-time to read (and not aimlessly surf the internets on my phone), but then I opened it, and couldn’t put it down.  And for the record, I didn’t mind the Archer translation.

Other reads going on in the Haus:

Haus Meister: “A Man on the Moon” by Andrew Chaikin

Haus Frau: “The Snake Pit,” by Sigrid Undset.  Waiting for Book 3 to come in the mail, thank you Thrift Books!

Trooper: just finished “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” by C.S. Lewis on Audible.  Unabridged with Michael York narrating.

Rascal: working on “St. Pius X, the Farm boy who became Pope” for his 4th Quarter Book Report.  He’s champing at the bit to read more Hardy Boys mysteries, though. 😉

Dino: writing a book summary of “Ox-Cart Man” for his 4th Quarter Reading to finish it off.

Princess: just finished “Betsy-Tacy” by Maud Hart Lovelace.

Sunshine: listened to “I’m a T-Rex

Miss M: listened to “Going to Town.”

Today some of us are going to our favorite buy-sell-trade bookstore to find more gems for summer reading!  We’ve been looking forward to this all month, especially as we are meeting friends there to share the joy.

 

Leave a Reply

