Pretty, Happy, Funny, Real on the cusp of Summer

~ {pretty, happy, funny, real} ~

Capturing the context of contentment in everyday life ~

IMG_6742

My quick porch art for the season.  I had to work fast; as soon as the word got out that I had sidewalk chalk in the Haus again, four or five pairs of hands came grabbing for it.

Within the hour, the back deck was decorated.

IMG_6759

Or working on our inner Celtic Warrior Princess.  Either one. 😉

Pretty

IMG_6746

Our 13th Anniversary (Lucky 13!) is on Tuesday.  Last week I had the quick opportunity to zip into the little Zales where Haus Meister had bought my engagement ring 14 years ago and get my rings cleaned.  That had been on my list of things to do for years!  The top ring is a gold band he bought me while we were dating (we liked the design on it), the middle is my engagement ring, and the bottom is my wedding band.  I’ve only been wearing the trio together for about a month, as I like the combination.  Earlier this month, my mother gave me her star sapphire–or Lindy star–ring that she received from her grandmother (my Nana) for her 16th birthday.  I remembered that ring being in the ABSOLUTELY DO NOT TOUCH category in Mom’s jewelry box when my sister and I were little girls looking for her 1980s beaded necklaces or, when older, trying to see who’d get to borrow her Nutcracker earrings first during the Christmas season. 🙂  So when she gave me that ring, well, I wanted to wear it daily lest I lose it.  Or one of my girls take it and lose it. Hence the gold band went from my right hand to my left. 🙂  How’s that for random today?

Happy

IMG_6764

These windchimes I found at Hobby Lobby!

Our Anniversary gift to each other–because we both like cooking–is a new oven range! We’re sappy romantics but we’re also practical.  😉 It arrived yesterday and the box became a backyard fort for a few hours.  Cardboard doesn’t last long around here.

IMG_6660

Rearranging the basement to help give it a more “family room” feel.  We have large tables and wooden chairs upstairs but if you want more comfort, this is the place.

IMG_6655

“Shopping the Haus” for new mantel decor.  I later added a tiny white creamer jug to the right side (it had lost it’s companion sugar bowl) and a blue vase with yellow roses to the left side.

And because my crazy-g0-nuts nesting is still in high gear, I’ve been having fun with the upstairs walls, too.

IMG_6761

Funny

IMG_6768

EEEEEEEEK!!!!!!!!! Toddlers with screens!!!!!!!

Oh, and he was complaining that he hasn’t had much presence on the blog.  I told him it’s hard when he tries to avoid the camera.  So he sat still once for a picture.

IMG_6622

Lunch Break LEGO time.  With a Warsaurus.

Real

IMG_6766

Why is it that toddlers want to climb into baby seats?

Things are getting very real over here.  The bassinet is up, the carseat is on its way toward the van, there’s diapers in the closet, little outfits in the drawer, and a bottle on the shelf with the kids’ cups.

Little Bit decided to show up midway through the 37th week, all on her own. I’m just about 34weeks.  Even if Munchkin2 makes us go to 41 this time, I’m going to be ready.  This time.  Maybe.

3 thoughts on “Pretty, Happy, Funny, Real on the cusp of Summer

  1. Grandma Rie says:

    Cute posting, love the chain mail on the dinosaur that is a Warsaurus and what you have done with the house.

Leave a Reply

