Triduum

Tomorrow, March 25, we recognize the confluence of two major feasts of the Church: The Annunciation and Good Friday.  Christ in the womb of the Virgin Mary, taking on our flesh to save us from our sins and Christ dying in that same flesh on the Cross to accomplish His mission. This joining of dates will not happen again until the year 2157, and here is an amazing must-read about the significance.

902

In the meantime it is Maundy Thursday, feast of the priesthood and the Eucharist.

Be Thou my vision, O Lord of my heart,
Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art;
Thou my best thought by day and by night,
both waking and sleeping, Thy presence my light.

Be Thou my wisdom, and Thou my true word,
Thou ever with me, and I with thee Lord;
Thou my great Father, and I thy true son;
Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one.

Be thou my breastplate, my sword for the fight;
Thou my whole armor, and Thou my true might;
Be Thou my soul’s shelter, be Thou my strong tower:
O raise Thou me Heavenward, great Power of my power.

Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise:
Thou mine inheritance now and always;
Be Thou and Thou only the first in my heart;
Great Sovereign of Heaven, my treasure Thou art.

High King of heaven, Thy victory won
May I reach Heaven’s joys, O bright Heaven’s Sun;
Heart of my own heart, whatever befall,
Still be Thou my vision, O Ruler of all.

Leave a Reply

