It’s Rolling With the Punches

…or so I have learned this Lent.  Re-learned?  It has been one of those seasons where nothing seems to go as planned, but if I don’t sweat every last bit of small stuff, it’s not so bad, right? 😉

The strep episode ended at the commencement of a three week fiasco with a refrigerator that wouldn’t cool. We’d think it was fixed, then it would stop again. So last week, new refrigerator.

image

Then, my beat up phone was due for an upgrade. That took a week to work out.

First World Problems.

We continued our fixing up of the house, repainting as the days got warmer and the sunshine came out.  Plants arrived in the mail that I’ll write about another time (when I have them all in ground).

My sister-in-law coaxed me into the yellow (Benjamin Moore 275 Banana Cream) for the laundry/powder room. This is in progress. And I admit she made a good call, and so I would show only laundry triage is happening.

image

Haus Meister and the kids spent last weekend working on the red bathroom upstairs. It will no longer be red very soon.  (Top wall: Valspar Woodlawn Silver Brook; Wainscoting: Valspar Bungalow White)

IMG_2141

I can’t believe how big these kids are growing.  They’re all shooting up like rockets this Spring!

image

This is so tranquil now….

Ideally, the bathroom would have been totally done by now, but that’s where we roll with the punches.  No sooner had we the satisfaction of a working fridge, a working phone, projects going well, and school coming along nicely… enter stage left the 12 hr flu bug, which hit all of us between Tuesday and Friday.

Eww. That’s what I mean by laundry triage. Finally this morning I determined to just stop saying that “THIS week we will get back to normal.” Bad things happen when I say it! 😉

image

But around here there’s too much fun going on. Look at that smile!

So we roll with the punches and look for the fun silver linings and brighten the Haus for Spring.

 

I confess I’m kind of addicted to The Pioneer Woman’s line of products. A convalescent cup of Vernor’s and ice chips never looked so good. Or my morning coffee. Or that creamer with a hyacinth that Sunshine plucked (without permission, alas) from my front bed. And I finally found a kitchen rug I liked! You can’t see it, though, because it’s just as often a toddler reading spot. The littlest girlies barely remember carpet in a house! 😉 And for the record PW isn’t being compensated for this endorsement. I’m just gushing because would you really rather hear about the doings of 10 people with a stomach bug?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

