Happy Birthday, Trooper!

It’s just Littlest and I awake right now.  The rest of the house is sleeping late, mainly because there’s been a lot of sniffles and coughing overnight. The whole family has been down with this crud, one by two, ever since Thanksgiving break ended.  The kids wanted an extended break time but this was not the way to obtain it. 😉

Last night my dad and I assembled a fitness trampoline downstairs.  It’s Trooper’s big birthday gift to help with sensory during the day.  Haus Meister and I are going to put off his special trip to the climbing gym until he’s feeling better, but there will be online shopping for climbing shoes.  My parents had asked me to make sure Trooper e-mailed them his birthday wish list, so one day I sat down with him and opened the “mail” app on his iPad.  It’s the family address, of course, so I got everything ready and told him it was time to type.  He picks out the letters one by one, sometimes grabbing my finger to type if he’s in a hurry (I let my hand go limp so he is the one guiding) and sometimes he picks them out with his own finger while I lightly keep a touch on his wrist to remind him to focus.

I would like climbing shoes for my birthday.  Mine are too tight. 

And then he was done, but I was impressed once again that he realized the need and wanted to express it.  He’s sharp as a tack, that boy, and a little snarky sometimes, too.  One time during these little typing sessions I began to wax poetic about how wonderful it was that he could communicate so well with us now, and was there anything he wanted to tell me right this minute?

Be quiet.

Followed up with his cheesy grin so I’d know he was joking. HA!

He hasn’t been horseback riding now for about eighteen months, and he doesn’t miss it.  After his tenth birthday, the instructor we liked switched jobs, and then he was passed around through instructors who really didn’t have a way to challenge him and couldn’t be bothered to push him harder. The Special Olympics he was in?  I didn’t mention it at the time but they hadn’t even made it possible for him to guide the horse himself.  Crumbs, the terminology escapes me, but there were no reins for Trooper to hold himself. As his grandmother had been taking him to his lessons, she had said how much nicer it was that he was learning to use the reins himself.  I never got to see that. They put the rope on for the instructor to pull the horse around the arena, and Trooper just sat up there for the ride. Afterward his new instructor changed times to something less manageable for us, so we called it quits.

By then, he’d found his new sport.

I like climbing better than riding, he typed once. They never let me lead the horse. I was always being pulled around. With climbing, the auto belay means I can do things myself. I like to get up the wall. It makes me strong.  I really like it when I can get to the top of the wall.  I feel like I can do anything.

And when he’s not on auto-belay? His Dad has his back.

Nicholas at High Point

Happy 12th Birthday to our high climbing Trooper. Our inspiration and our hero.

And if you need to remember how he almost didn’t make it, how he was supposed to ruin our lives, and how happy we are that he’s here? 

 

 

Leave a Reply

