Summer Read Alouds

IMG_0936(picture from the DinTG archives)

Oh, how we love books here. Today I kicked off our summer read-aloud “program,” which basically means I try to read aloud a lot. I’m going to start logging pages for an end of the year ice-cream party pretty soon, at least for the big kids.

Today:

Paul Revere’s Ride, by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow & illustrated by Ted Rand.

Time of Wonder, by Robert McCloskey (honestly, I can’t imagine why I was all of 30 before I even heard of this book. I love it.)

Ella Bella Ballerina and Cinderella, by James Mayhew

Papa Small & Policeman Small, by Lois Lenski. I found these both for $3.50 each at the used bookstore. Hot deal!

In other book-related news:

Rascal, meanwhile, is working on The Cure of Ars; the Priest who out-talked the Devil.

Trooper is listening to: Augustine came to Kent.

Dino can’t bear to be separated from LEGO Star Wars in 100 Scenes. I don’t know if that counts as reading.  

Princess is working through various primer books.  She took to reading like a duck to water.  Today we worked together on reading “The Giving Tree” by Shel Silverstein while in the waiting room for Trooper and Sunshine’s speech therapy. I’m just going to say that I’ve always thought that was one seriously depressing book.  I tried it again today to see if my opinion had changed in the last decade or more. Nope. So pardon me if I don’t bother to link it. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Summer Read Alouds

  1. Bob Wahlstrom says:

    Theresa—glad all the kids are interested in reading good books. Did any of them read the one I sent, or was it a little over their heads @ this stage?? Love, grandpa

  2. Haus Frau says:

    Hi Grandpa! Zach is now getting more interested in the country’s history so we’ll give the book a try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

