{Pretty, Happy, Funny, Real}

5609751923_b38935def8_m

Random observation: tearing open the package of tonight’s Yogi “Breathe Deep” tea (for respiratory ails), I notice the tag of the tea bag telling me an uplifting printed message.

“The voice of your soul is breath.”

Now, this week 75% of the house, myself included, have been suffering from either seasonal allergies or downright sinusitis. I thought that tea bag was being kind of cruel. 😉 I personally am pretty much on the mend, but we won’t discuss two nights ago, when my head felt the woes of a sinus headache.  You know how Wodehouse always uses the Biblical analogy of the tent spike wielded by Jael, the wife of Heber, to describe Bertie Wooster’s head after a night on the town? Being the type that looks for silver linings, I wish I could have remembered some of those Wodehousian lines at the time.  But laughing would have made it all worse.

Anyway, here’s someone pretty. She decided to say “Boo!” instead of “Cheese!”

We're holding our breath that she lets her hair grow out more this year.... Please?

We’re holding our breath that she lets her hair grow out more this year…. Please?

And someone Happy who received the second of seven sacraments offered by our Church last Sunday. 🙂

photo 3

His First Communion suit arrived and it wasn’t a terrible thing to wear! When Rascal made his First Holy Communion almost two years ago, Dino told us that never under any circumstances would he make his First Communion if it entailed wearing a SUIT. Fortunately time has mellowed things. I mean, this kid would probably come to Mass in a storm trooper costume if we’d let him.  He’d be a good stormtrooper, mind you. Those exist in his stories.

Ah me, my funny Miss M. She is at last allowing me to (occasionally) do something with those wild curls.  I’m not sure why the bread is being worn as bracelets.

photo 1

Now that I think on it, I don’t know whether she even told me.

Real — Littlest is a force to be reckoned with!

photo 5

“Mwa-ha-ha-haaaaa, Just when you thought your 50-piece puzzle was safe!” Incidentally, we do still have all the pieces, and I’ve moved it to a higher elevation.

Now that I’ve reached “real,” I’m going to confess my latest form of insanity.  I have been washing dishes by hand for two weeks now. GASP! I know! Insane! That’s what a dishwasher is for, right?

Sure, until two weeks ago, when it growled at me four times and refused to start.

So I grabbed my favorite Mrs. Meyers dish soap (Lemon Verbena) and my new dishtowels from IKEA (dangerous store) and set to work having fun.

I grew up without a dishwasher, you see.  I was married before I ever used one daily.  My sister and I were the dish detail and we had lots of fun conversations during that time.  Of course, there was also the times she’d skip out on me (she was “dry-and-put-away”)  until eventually Dad or Mom had pity and stepped in as I kept the dishes mounting higher.  It was always funny how she’d return when she’d hear the disposal running. 😉 HA! Anyway, I’m in no hurry to get this dishwasher fixed.  I have until December when the warranty expires. 😉

Am I going crazy? Well, the dishwasher wasn’t on the top five “Must Replace Appliance Because Our Life will Be A Mess if we DON’T” list. That list runs as follows:

1. Washing Machine

2. Dryer

3. COFFEE MAKER

4. Oven

5. Refrigerator

In fact, I sometimes wildly dream about living without a microwave! As for the dishwasher, I wonder retrospectively if I didn’t get lazy using it. I had a very bad habit of letting the dishes pile up between loads.  Why bother handwashing them–isn’t that what the dishwasher is for? Now almost every night I wake up and my sink is clear. My counters are clear(er), and there’s the satisfaction that the dishes are DONE. There’s not a few lights on an appliance reminding me that I still need to put them away. I don’t know. It’s something, anyway.

If I ever go back, I’ll let you know just to “keep it real.” 😉

Played so hard, she crashed on the kitchen floor. We woke her up after the picture was taken so she could nap somewhere more comfortable. ;)

Played so hard, she crashed on the kitchen floor. We woke her up after the picture was taken so she could nap somewhere more comfortable. 😉

2 thoughts on “{Pretty, Happy, Funny, Real}

  1. I have more to regret in my adolescence than my 20s!;). What a horrible little sister you had to put up with. My Purgatory should be washing dishes and finishing all the crust from the sandwiches I’d throw away.

  2. Haus Frau says:

    Oh, believe me, I’m smiling at those memories. All the times you made me laugh with movie quotes and that “Allosaurus” song totally make up for it. Well, that, and the time Dad got you with the squirt gun while you melodramatically complained about actually having to WASH the dishes after you’d been at it 10 minutes. /snicker.

Leave a Reply

