{pretty, happy, funny, real} Beginning to look a lot like the end of Advent!

 

5609751923_b38935def8_m

Oh my, it seems like it’s been ages since I’ve had a chance to sit and post. The calendar is speeding forward faster than light (it seems) while I feel like we’re plodding slowly through our Advent to-do list like we’re in waterlogged boots.  In a swamp.  But not these boots:

photo 1

I got a great deal on these (read: 65% off retail!) and I am wearing them all the time.  In fact, the first time I went out to get the mail in them I stopped at the door, thinking I must be in my slippers because they were just that comfortable. Sorry, I digress.

I was going to get the pictures for this post and was puzzled to see about thirty blank or blurry photos saved, until I saw this one:
photo 5

And knew from the curl that Miss M was at it again! I love that blog nickname for her. Somehow it just fits.  Miss Spunkitude is another name I affectionately call her but it doesn’t look as good in print. With Miss M it can go so many ways, like Miss Mischief, Miss Marvelous, Miss Messy.  It all just depends.  And here I go again digressing–this is supposed to be an Advent catch-up post!

Ahem.

photo 1

I took a gamble and put my St. Nicholas candleholder out in the kitchen.  Yes, in reach of the kids. He’s tucked in a nook between a utensil jug and my oven, and save once I haven’t seen Sunshine near him. I’m kind of fond of this fellow; I am pretty sure I acquired him the year we married (or at least the year after) and I love the starry lights he casts. I didn’t want to hide him somewhere I couldn’t see those lights often.

Meanwhile, the Jesse Tree is up and smells wonderfully piney. With our Bible ornaments (laminated) and the felt ornaments from another countdown calendar, it’s looking pretty decorated.photo 4It’s my favorite kind of tree, too: the imperfect “Charlie Brown” variety. This one leans.

photo 3

My kitchen windowsill in December. I opted not to keep buying flowers during Advent and instead got these little trees.

photo 4

Looks rather cheerful from the upper deck.

photo 2

A new acquisition for our room was this Christmas cactus. It sits perfectly on our bedroom sill and adds a lot to the room. I have been forgetting just how much a small touch can improve things.

photo 1Back to the kitchen for a moment. My two Tasha Tudor Advent calendars flank my Susan Branch yearly calendar. The bare part of the wall is being filled with the kids’ British Christmas Village building-a-day countdown. I took this picture on Sunday but we haven’t gotten much farther, mainly because although they keep coloring, we haven’t taped them up yet.

photo 3

I have hardly knitted a stitch since Thanksgiving break. 😦 I tried to finish the second washcloth I began on the drive home only to have it unravelled twice when I left my knitting out in the open. Grr. So these skeins wait for me to have a second or two and begin again. This photo kind of reminds me of one of those “Need a Gift for the Knitter in your Life?” ads. The little bowl I found at Wal-Mart in their Hallmark “North Pole” display. That makes one other good thing to come from Wal-Mart besides the mulled cider candles.

photo 4

My Christmas goat collection! Haus Meister found the red fellow at IKEA (our new favorite store), the Annalee one came from my Mom (sorry it’s missing it’s saddle, Mom–Someone got to it when it was on the mantel last Christmas, which is why they are in my room this year), and the straw one came from my cousin. 🙂

The Gavlebocken still stands, by the way, as of time of post.

The LEGOs are beginning to show the spirit of things around here.  On the eve of St. Nicholas Day, St. Nick’s workshop appeared.

photo 2

But because we never seem to leave a design the same for two or three days running, by the weekend it was The Caballero’s Christmas Hacienda.

photo

Then Rascal made me a LEGO goat, which would have been displayed with my Christmas goat collection only it got assimilated into some other design shortly after this.

photo 3

Ok, that’s enough for now. I’m going to try and get more Christmas cards ready for the mail before I generally resemble the sweetheart below.  Hope you all have a happy rest-of-your-Advent!

photo 5

Leave a Reply

