{Pretty, Happy, Funny, Real} in the first week of Advent

5609751923_b38935def8_m

Advent is here; I am now listening to Christmas music with abandon (shame on me) although I did download a new version of “O Come O Come Emmanuel” by two talented artists called “The Piano Guys” which is amusing because one of them is playing the cello.

So what’s new in these parts…

Pretty

IMG_1830

I turned my front door wreath into a perpetual Advent wreath! Or just until Epiphany, anyway. The banner above it was made by my sister and yes, it does read “Joy.” The “y” was blurred.

cropped-photo-5-4.jpg

In our little oratory corner I was able to put out our German Advent wreath. I am so happy to have this out again.  I promise it is not about to burn the ceiling. In fact, these candles are rather quick melting. Remind me next year not to order the Amazon.com special no matter how on top of it I feel. It’s five days into Advent and just lighting it for our family rosary has shortened that candle by half.

Happy

IMG_1686

While in my old hometown for Thanksgiving, we got to see our first snow of the season. It was nothing to the locals, who had already seen some, but to us it was amazing.

IMG_1709

We also enjoyed a trip to the Children’s Museum, with it’s “Jolly Days” in full swing.

IMG_1720

Cousins enjoying the slide in the Snow Castle.

IMG_1757

Checking out a mastodon skeleton.

Real

Switching “real” and “funny” here. I already told you what we found when we got to the parking lot of the Museum.

IMG_1785

Nota bene: if ever you’re visiting the Children’s Museum of Indianapolis and they tell you there’s no room in their parking garage, avoid parking in their Waterclock lot. It may look safe being right next to the parking garage, but there’s no security camera on it, and anyone can drive in and out quickly.

To add insult to injury, it looks as though the thieves also rummaged around and found our nice camera.   And while looking through pictures on my phone, I found one with my knitting bag on our last afternoon together.

IMG_1696

Good bye, Armas. Good-bye, knitting bag.

I haven’t cast on a new sweater for my husband yet, although the needles are ready and I fished out some of the remaining balls of Istex Alafoss. Plus he spoiled me by having me google yarn shop locations on our way back home, and dropped me off at one that was 10 minutes from our route. Providentially there was a Chick-Fil-A at that exit so he drove around and got food for the crew while I shopped. On the way home I finished 1.25 washcloths.  I love using the “unavoidable delay” of travel like that.

IMG_1799

My helper. 🙂

Funny

Let’s end on a goofy note. Sunshine’s hair is starting to do this cute flip at the ends if you get it just right.

IMG_1826

Then I realized we were pretty much at the “Episode IV” stage again. Sigh.

Thank you, Google Images

Thank you, Google Images

Sweet Sunshine-girl, I don’t care if we keep your hair at your shoulders… just don’t cut it again when it gets there, please! 😉  And no, I don’t think I trust you with a lightsaber, either.

2 thoughts on “{Pretty, Happy, Funny, Real} in the first week of Advent

  1. Beautiful wreath! I love it! and the banner too! So scary your car was vandalized! That’s such an awful feeling! Prayers while you all sort all the repairs and reporting of it.

Leave a Reply

