Yarn Along on Spy Wednesday

Back to the Follow-Your-Arrow Shawl. I stopped at row 12, Clue 4B, which fortunately was a purl row and should have launched me into the project smoothly had I not had to repair some unravelling damage thanks to my dear Sunshine, who had found my project bag again. Having recently begun to carry a purse again instead of just a pocketbook, I forget the irresistible attraction purses have to any kind of pilferer–preschoolers included. 😉 So much for reminding myself to lock my WIPs into the yarn cabinet.

 YAL

And my resolve to refrain from reading any new books in Lent flew out the window with the arrival of the first “new” Wodehouse since Christmas. It came earlier than I expected, and I was going to be a good girl and keep it for later, but I have my weaknesses and I admit I didn’t resist opening that first page… 😉

Other reading includes this absolutely excellent must-read post about “Destruction Proofing your Family” and this series.

Speaking of Lent, if you’re curious why I call today “Spy Wednesday,” it has to do with an old tradition that the Wednesday before Good Friday is the day Judas Iscariot made the fateful betrayal bargain, and then, as the Bible tells us, “And from that time he sought opportunity to betray him.” Hence, “Spy.”

In other news: This weather bulletin. Suffice to say my budding pots of blueberry bushes are in the garage for the nonce. And my lavender. C’mon weather–it’s APRIL IN THE SOUTH! My Southern born mother-in-law reminded me that in these parts it’s known as “Dogwood Winter.” There’s also the possibility of “Blackberry Winter” in a few weeks. I might not actually plant those bushes into the ground until, I don’t know….July?

* IMPACTS…AREA FRUIT TREES AND STRAWBERRIES ARE BLOOMING…MAKING
THEM SUSCEPTIBLE TO FREEZE AND FROST DAMAGE. ADDITIONAL EARLY
SPRING TIME VEGETABLE CROPS…SUCH AS ONIONS AND SPINACH ARE ALSO
VULNERABLE TO THESE SUBFREEZING CONDITIONS. AREA GROWERS WILL
NEED TO TAKE PRECAUTIONS TO PREVENT DAMAGE TO THEIR CROPS.

Leave a Reply

