Green Thumb Dreams

Pictures of Posey’s party coming presently….still need to get the ones from Haus Meister’s camera. ๐Ÿ™‚

Meanwhile,

Beannachtai na Feile Padraig oraibh! St. Patrick’s Day blessings upon you!

photo 1 (12)

My annual shamrock plant is next to my sink although half of it was uprooted since this picture was taken. I’m not sure why that happened, but then, I’m not sure why most of the antics in this house happen. I just clean up, remind the child not to touch my plants again, and try to salvage what’s left. Someone once commented that I was patient. I told my husband later that I wasn’t sure it was patience as much as what we call Resignation to the Inevitable. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Some weeks ago I mentioned I had bought a gardening book after my birthday. It did indeed have some great tips for raised bed gardening, as I had hoped.

photo 2 (12)

I’ve always thought raised beds were the way to go. In the Old Haus we used them once because we lived in a floody area and the backyard did get rather moist in a lot of rain. In this house we live on the side of a hill with rocky, clay soil. There’s one corner of the backyard that stays miraculously sunny and green and for whatever reason isn’t as attractive to the kids as the rest of the backyard, so I thought that would be the perfect spot to construct the book’s idea of raised beds.

photo 3 (7)

That part of the backyard is also flat, making it ideal for this project. Haus Meister, always kind to my ambitions, looked through the book as well but gently pointed out the flaw in my plan. To construct the irrigation system meant we’d need a hose or two permanently attached to the backyard spigot. The last time we left hoses attached to the backyard spigot the kids were either turning the water on all the time, or accidentally puncturing the hose.

I then pointed out that we have a front spigot, and there’s sun in parts of the front yard.

photo 4 (5)

Sure, he adds, but to put up a few of these means we’d have to get permission from the architecture committee of our HOA.

Hmph.

Then this weekend while doing the grocery shopping I saw this gem in the produce department.

photo 5 (3)

And obviously I brought it home. Haus Meister looked it over and pronounced it good. We have occasionally had luck with container gardening and a few pots here and there, artistically placed on porch or side of the yard, won’t bug the HOA much anyway. At least it hadn’t when we tried it two or three years ago. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ย I did groan a little when I opened the box to see “disease resistant seeds” printed on the packets. Yay! I probably bought GMO seeds! Just what I always wanted… and then I laughed because you know, disease resistance isn’t high on my list of worries when I start a garden. I’d much rather have “Impervious to Error from Gardeners Who Like To Think They Have Green Thumbs” printed on a package. I’d buy those seeds in a heartbeat. ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

Leave a Reply

