Here there be spoilers….

Now having written a very serious post not too long ago, I am now switching gears and going to write my 2cents about The Desolation of Smaug….

So, if you haven’t seen the movie yet and are planning to, you might not want to read ahead.

On the other hand, in this age of social media, nothing I am going to say is anything you probably haven’t already heard.

Except for my opinions, that is. 😉

So, without further eloquence….

desolation-of-smaug-poster-three-e1386886123320

UPDATE January 2015.  I gave a glowing review of this movie in December 2013.  I can only say in all honesty that I liked the movie because I wanted to like it.  I wanted it to be a good movie and wanted to watch it in conjunction with the LOTR movies later on with my teenage boys.  I dismissed the feeling that it was just a bad interpretation of the book in the hopes that all the things I had issues with (elf-dwarf romance? Please. Save it for the MMORPGS.) would somehow be solved/fixed/edited with a stunning third movie.  Rather like “The Two Towers” was with “Return of the King.” We bought this movie in May when it was released.  I wasn’t halfway through before regretting our misspent money.

Suffice to say, this time I believed the reviews and didn’t even see the third film.  A FB promotion of Kili and Tauriel from the Hobbit page itself with “hashtag ‘It was Real'” was gag worthy, and I didn’t need to see her sobbing about him onscreen.  I’m not a fan of over the top CGI battle sequences, so sitting through an hour of it wasn’t going to be my cup of tea.  I guess I am a Tolkien purist more than I realized.  But frankly, Haus Meister and I are lucky to have a date twice a year. I’m not going to waste our rare date nights on something that we’re going to regret having spent the money to see.  And it’s a shame.  There could have been one very good long movie made from this book.  Possibly two.  It’s just a shame that the screenwriters kind of forgot the book was actually about a Hobbit.

Leave a Reply

