Pretty, Happy, Funny, Real

5609751923_b38935def8_m

Back again for another week of pictures! If you’re wondering where I went, let me just put it in two words: Christmas Cards. Rather, trying to decide if I really wanted to put a Christmas letter in those Christmas cards. I  hemmed and hawed over the subject for a week because, you see, about eight years ago I decided to stop doing a letter per se and doing something quirky and rhyming in each. I’m no true poet, mind, as I rather operate on the Sir Percy Blakeney definition of poetry:

“The pretty thing rhymes in four places/ don’t you see?/ And if a rhyme rhymes, it makes a poem/ If you follow me.” (Anthony Andrews in The Scarlet Pimpernel, 1982)

To make a long story short, five minutes after deciding that I just wouldn’t do anything extra in my card this year, I hammered something out and it worked. And so I finally got started on my cards.

Family Christmas Tradition #28: Mom spends a week stressing about something she doesn’t have to do anyway, but does it all the same. 😉

So, in Advent news our Jesse Tree arrived on St. Nicholas Day. It did come from the Wal-Mart garden department but as there was a measly $2 difference between a 3-4′ tree and a 5-6′ tree, I went for the larger. It’s in the corner of our upstairs family room, which I affectionately call the Advent corner. My Tasha Tudor Advent calendar is on the wall next to it and a side table is holding our basket of Christmas picture books. Now ironically, we haven’t been keeping up as well with our Jesse Tree ornaments this year. Perhaps it was the late start. Perhaps it’s because I’m forgetting until the end of the day. At any rate, the other Advent calendars in the house are up and running well so I won’t stress this one this year.

So, in no particular order, our family Advent doings.

Happy Funny

The Advent corner

The Advent corner at 6am. Need to take another picture with more light!

Oh, and to add a littleReal to this, you can barely see at the top of the tree below the star there is our felt Advent wreath. Our Advent wreath refused to stay on a table this year. I kept finding it on a toddler’s head or left on the floor so decided to take matters into my own hands. It really looks pretty fetching up there when you see it in person. I am looking forward to the year I can trustfully put back out our lovely German wooden Advent wreath. But by then, I’ll miss this chaotic season, maybe a little. 😉

photo 1 (3)

Our Fontanini Nativity is up and going again. It is never the same for more than a few hours at a time. It was Rascal’s idea to add pine needles that fall from the Jesse Tree (and Wal-Mart doesn’t have one of those lovely machines that jiggle the loose needles off the tree before you bring it home) as “hay” for the manger. The little tonka truck on the left makes hay deliveries apparently. For the record, I did have the kings and their animals traveling up from the basement (this is in our foyer, which has been de-wallpapered and repainted since this picture was taken), but one day the little girls brought them all upstairs and we haven’t been able to move them. Or rather, I could probably move the kings if the animals were allowed to stay. It’s my own fault for insisting on three pretty elegant animals.

St. Nicholas brought a new figure this year:

photo 2 (3)

John the Farmer. I thought it rather appropriate that there is a bit of green and yellow paint on John.

Family Tradition #62: After reading last Advent that Pope Emeritus Benedict’s family would add a piece to their family nativity each year, I thought that was a great idea. Saves the expense of adding a lot all at once, and quite frankly if you play your cards right you can find some nice pieces on eBay for half the retail price.

Pretty/Happy/Real

The visit we made to a Christmas tree farm in Indiana where my sister and brother-in-law and their little girls picked out their real Jesse tree (to become a full fledged Christmas tree on the 24th). We didn’t pick out a tree for the obvious reason that we had no way of transporting a large tree home as I mentioned last week, but as I also mentioned we don’t have tree farms like these down South (at least in our town) so I wanted the kids to have the experience.

IMG_3613 IMG_3612 IMG_3610 IMG_3609 IMG_3607

One thought on “Pretty, Happy, Funny, Real

  1. www.aspiredliving.net says:

    I love the pictures of the tree farm! I’m glad y’all got your tree up and I love the tradition of getting it on a certain day. Blessings, Kyle

Leave a Reply

