{pretty, happy, funny, real

5609751923_b38935def8_m

Pretty

Miss M’s birthday went well, and she was pleased with it. I’m learning to keep the toddler birthdays low-key–as low-key as possible with four siblings desirous for cake, ice cream, and root beer. I do not count Trooper or Posey in that score because Trooper hasn’t developed a sweet tooth (!!) and Posey doesn’t know those things exist yet. So we got balloons and I made pink lemonade cupcakes and even though it rained half the day it still was fun for everyone involved.

IMG_2196

This was 0.354 seconds before she realized she didn’t like being sung to and wanted me to hold her for the rest of the song.

IMG_2224

Among her gifts were the Laura & Mary Ingalls and Almanzo Wilder peg dolls from The Fig & Thimble Etsy store. All the pictures I have of her holding them are blurry because she was already making up stories with them. The dolls were an instant hit and even enabled us to sit through 85% more of Sunday Mass than usual the next morning!  Peg dolls are now tops on my list of favorite little kid toys.

"iss MEEE!" she giggles

“iss MEEE!” she giggles

My pretty Miss M.

Happy

100_1485

My dad and the Trooper, 2005.

SONY DSC

My Mom and Dino, her buddy, 2011.

The 2nd birthday isn’t the only big event these days. Ten days ago my parents celebrated their 36th Wedding Anniversary.

And while my cousins were writing very wonderful posts about their own parents’ 40th Wedding Anniversary, I was a loser and forgot to even get my parents’ card out on time.

 But at least I spared putting the picture taken in 1975 up here for immortality. Do we still have that picture? The plaid bell-bottoms one?

Seriously, Mom and Dad, I do think you’re wonderful and I couldn’t ask for better parents, or grandparents for my gang. And I promise that we’ll give you at least a card on time next year…or by your 40th! 😉

Other big events: Someone has an 8th birthday this weekend.

And 14 years ago yesterday I met my husband. You may read all about it here.  I didn’t know that was going to be the start of something absolutely wonderful, but I’m forever grateful for it all the same.

Funny

The Desolation of Smaug trailer…LEGO-style! Thanks to my sister for the link.

I can so see my boys doing something like this in 7 – 10 years.

Real

“Some spawn of Ungoliant, or I’m not a wizard” — Radagast the Brown, in the recent Hobbit movie.

It’s official: we live in Mirkwood.

IMG_2246

IMG_2227

I would say if these suckers dared enter our house, I’d be after them with a tennis racket. But let’s be honest: I’d scream, run to the opposite side of the house and sit plugging my ears until Haus Meister or one of the boys came and told me the thing was gone. Fortunately for my self-image’s sake, and the lives of the spiders, this hasn’t happened yet.

6 thoughts on “{pretty, happy, funny, real

  1. I can’t take credit for the Lego link, that was all Dan. He indulges my dorky side from time to time (but still won’t watch Syfi with me;)).

    I LOVE that picture of Dad and Trooper, always been a top fav.!

    M’s cupcakes look delicious! Wish we could have been there. Hope Rascal enjoys his big day today! The peg dolls aren’t on etsy anymore! I did find another set with Pa and Ma, but no Almanzo.

    Just another sign that the dark times are spreading, for the evil of Mirkwood first came to our home in mid May.;) Shelob’s spawn are still thriving over here, but at least it’s kept the mosquitos down.

  2. Oh, and M and Lucy will have to trade style secrets with that curly hair. My gosh, a gift and a curse.;). Now that Lucy’s is longer the only way I can keep it from tangling and going wild is to French braid it.

  3. Haus Frau says:

    I contacted them and requested the peg dolls. She had them ready pretty quickly, too. You can look back through their sold orders and find examples.

  4. I love the pictures of your parents. It was ironic that you used a picture of Sr. Mary Grace in the background (from her final vows celebration) because she was born the same year that your parents were married. And peg dolls rock! I bought some saint dolls from a Christendom grad.

Leave a Reply

