{pretty, happy, funny, real}

5609751923_b38935def8_m

Wow! The days got away from me there. When school ended I imagined a peaceful summer with children happily playing out of doors, myself sitting next to Posey Pea on the back deck while she was in the shade, me knitting and sipping iced tea. I figured I’d also have sewed through about six quick projects and written a chapter or two of the sequel to my book.

The reality? I’ve knitted about 4″  more of my sweater and the rest of the time I feel is divided between cooking, cleaning, and laundry. Cleaning also involves directing the children to do their chores, because I’m a “Mean Mom” (not my children’s words) who believes children need to learn responsibility. However, the children more often than not feel like this is a vacation (it’s called Summer Break, right?) and wonder why, if we’re not doing school, are we still doing chores?(!) Then Sunshine and Miss M have combined forces to become the Toddler Mischief Squad of the house known as “The Brown-Eyed Girls” because they are indeed the only kiddos with brown eyes. The Toddler Mischief Squad are responsible for such actions as the child lock now mounted on the refrigerator door (after blueberries, strawberries, and a whole package of tortillas were dumped out in a single day), and the fact that my sewing machine pedal was found outside and my skeleton key to my yarn-and-fabric cabinet was AWOL whenever an etsy store order came in that I needed to fill (and the item was locked in the cabinet for safekeeping). It’s been an interesting summer without a doubt!

But it has been a lot of fun too. The children are on the swim team again and enjoying the meets. And here’s a few snapshots of Some of What We’ve Been Up To Since I Last Posted.

IMG_1643

Pretty

Someone turned 3 months old!

We picked this outfit out for Princess before she was born. We found it at The Childrens Place in Indianapolis while out on a date because we tend to combine shopping and dining. We ate at the Old Spaghetti Factory after shopping. Why do I remember this? Not sure. I don't think I keep a history of every baby clothes item. Just half. ;)

We picked this outfit out for Princess before she was born. It’s now been worn by four daughters! We found it at The Childrens Place in Indianapolis while out on a date because we tend to combine shopping and dining when we get time out on our own. We ate at the Old Spaghetti Factory after shopping. Why do I remember this? Not sure. I don’t think I keep a history of every baby clothes item. Just half. 😉

Posey Pie, you’re a darling. We’re so glad you’re here.

We went to a wedding one weekend. It was a lovely wedding for the fifteen minutes I saw of it. The Toddler Mischief Squad decided that the hours in the car getting to the wedding was enough for them; sitting through the Nuptial Mass wasn’t going to happen (See Funny/Real). But I got to wear a real dress again, something neither “maternity” or “transitional.” That was so nice for me, anyway. The sunburn wasn’t though. Ouch.

IMG_1597

Unfortunately this is the only picture I have of me in it. I’m sitting in a playground if you hadn’t guessed.

Happy

100_7508Trooper’s therapeutic riding lessons are going swell. He enjoys helping groom the pony.

IMG_1615

Princess didn’t catch the bouquet at the wedding but after the reception someone handed it to her. She was thrilled to no end.

IMG_1665

Rascal reads LEGO instructions to Posey Pie.

Funny/Real

IMG_1563Unk the Stuffed Dinosaur had another misadventure. He went AWOL for a week until Trooper remembered he’d been using Unk in wind tunnel experiments down an air conditioner vent. Unk is the “Stuff” of Legend around here. If he goes missing I think I am more anxious than anyone because that dinosaur and I have been through a lot together taking care of the Trooper. 😉

IMG_1632

In more Trooper news, our new (refurb) Dyson has helped him overcome his dislike of vacuums! That was worth the price of admission.

IMG_1609

Miss M developed “hat envy” after two of Posey’s baby hats were left in the van, but there was not a hat for her.

IMG_1595

This is what I saw of the wedding.

Because it’s never too early to think about Christmas, Dinosaur informed me that he really wants the Bag End LEGO set under the tree. He constantly talks about all the adventures Bilbo Baggins is going to have (and he’s only heard a chapter of The Hobbit read out loud, mind you. That’s his sole Tolkien exposure so far). Then one night he brought me this and said it was his own Hobbit hole creation. All I could think looking at it was:

IMG_1656

“You have my shades.” “You have my quiver, flame-thrower, and axe.” “You have my financial backing”!

(instead of “You have my sword,” “you have my bow,” “You have my axe”, right? Right? Anyone else get it?

Sigh.

;))

3 thoughts on “{pretty, happy, funny, real}

Leave a Reply

