Yarn Along–Raindrop Cardigan Week 1

I had started a new washcloth set for the Etsy store, but shelved it for the nonce since I really really need summer tops. The more I look around, the more I’m convinced I’m just going to have to knit my own. Or wait for places to go on clearance. The frugal side of me balks at paying $50 for a shirt, you know? Ah, my poor Etsy store, one day I will fill you.

yarnalong2

But in the meantime, I cast on the Raindrop Cardigan by Jennifer Wood. I really like her patterns; I think I have eight in my Ravelry queue. I chose to use some recycled cotton yarn from my stash. Curious… it says it’s worsted, and I got gauge at the right needles, but it seems so loose. Not that a loose knit cardigan will feel horrid in August down here, when we’re roasting in the humidity…. so we’ll see how it ends up.

yarnalong1

My reading this week may be seen above. Pearls, Girls, and Monty Bodkin arrived fresh off the presses. I think I borrowed it from the library a few years ago as I remembered the plot. However, still fun. The arrival of this volume means I officially need to create another Wodehouse shelf in our home library! This is #53 in the collection if I’m correct. As Wodehouse wrote something on the order of 98 novels, I’m over halfway there!

The other read? Joy in the Ordinary…just an ordinary wholesome story written by no one in particular. Ahem. 😉 Seriously, this is less about navel gazing and more about getting back into the characters before I recommence summer writing on the sequel. I’ve missed writing. It’s time to start a little again.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Yarn Along–Raindrop Cardigan Week 1

  1. Grandma Rie says:

    What a pretty cardigan, can’t wait to see the finished product and read the next book……

  2. Jill says:

    I love Monty Bodkin. He might be my favorite Wodehouse character, like Bertie Wooster *without* a valet to get him out of trouble. I think I’ve read “Luck of the Bodkins” three or four times!
    Do you know if this novel comes before, or after that one? I suddenly need to make an Amazon purchase!!

Leave a Reply

