Counteraction!

Being in a postpartum state of wardrobe transition, body image and the fashion world have been on my mind a lot more often of late. Over the years I’ve come to gain a bit of the wisdom that you don’t have to be a size 0 to be beautiful, and also that not everyone (contrary to modern thought) has to have an hourglass figure or certain dimensions to be beautiful, either. Now that I have four daughters, I want them to grow up knowing this. Far too much of my junior high years were wasted comparing my awkward box-like frame to the “beautiful” girls around me, wondering what foods I could give up to make myself look like them (note: I was a healthy normal teenager. I just didn’t know that no amount of dieting was going to change my body shape from a “box” or a “banana” into an “hourglass.” I have since learned, however, that motherhood could make me a “pear” and also expand my shoe size, but that’s workable. haha ;))

And one thing is going to be certain.

FAT IS A BAD WORD. And we don’t call anyone “fat” even if they look it. It’s just not polite and we’re not going to label people by appearance.

Don’t misunderstand. I intend to instruct all my children about healthy food choices and ensure they get exercise. No one would call my children obese! But now that they’ve seen me pregnant and otherwise, some of them are overly observant of other people’s waistlines. And last night, when a very generous woman brought my family a homebaked meal to welcome our baby, one of my daughters mortified me by pointing out to that woman that she was fat.

I know kids do this unintentionally because I did once, too. However, we don’t call people “fat” in our house and nor do I allow anyone else to, either. But kids pick things up, and now one lesson this week for my kids to absorb is this:

God makes people in all different shapes and sizes. All of them are beautiful. And if we are going to tell someone about their looks, we are going to point out something beautiful, or keep our mouths shut.

One thought on “Counteraction!

  1. I, too, remember calling someone “fat” when I was little. My poor mother surely was mortified. One of the hardest/most important things (I think) is to avoid saying negative things about my own body in front of my daughters.

Leave a Reply

