{Pretty, Happy, Funny, Real}

Triple-Play today!

 +  + FossMeme

Am I on a roll? Here’s how they tie in.

Pretty + Happy

Easter Dresses! I know I wrote some months ago about my ambitious plans for three Easter dresses. You may also note that I kept mum on the subject after that. Partly this was because my mother-in-law volunteered to make two of the dresses for me, and I knew I wouldn’t see them until Holy Saturday. My mother-in-law is a master seamstress and I knew she’d make a thing of beauty. So I bought the Oliver + S Fairytale Dress pattern but I did not get the fabric indicated in a previous post. Shortly after I made that post came the iPhone mishap and subsequent replacement, causing a sticker-shock. 😉 So I opened my fabric cabinet and found that I had enough fabric in there for the dresses already! It came from my Grandma’s stash, so that was sweet for me since she’s the one who always made my Easter dresses, and then my mother-in-law had enough extra material from her mother’s stash to line Princess’ dress. Thus both Princess and Sunshine had dresses that reminded us of other seamstresses in our lives. 🙂

Here Princess models her Easter dress, made from a Michael Miller tea party design circa 2000. Cardigan by Target. Note the Princess-perfect pink sparkle shoes.

Here Princess models her Easter dress, made from a Michael Miller tea party design circa 2000. Cardigan by Target. Note the Princess-perfect pink sparkle shoes.

 

Sunshine looks darling in a Dick-and-Jane dress. Cardigan by Target. Mud-Puddle Proof Shoes are a must with this one.

Sunshine looks darling in a Dick-and-Jane dress. Cardigan by Target. Mud-Puddle Proof Shoes are a must with this one.

A closer look at the sweet sleeves on this dress. Oh, and thanks to the person who commented on this blog that Papo princesses work great in the M&D castle. The girls' Easter basket was gifted accordingly.

A closer look at the sweet sleeves on this dress. Oh, and thanks to the person who commented on this blog that Papo princesses work great in the M&D castle. The girls’ Easter basket was gifted accordingly.

 

And here’s where I come in. I did get my sewing machine out, and I did create a dress for Miss M. I used Carina Gardner’s Playdate Dress pattern, and I did get a yard of Oliver + S fabric because it was on sale and I was nuts over the buttons on the fabric! Miss M didn’t quite allow me to get a good shot of her in it–she’s always on the go these days–and as I characteristically was up until nearly 1am Holy Saturday night finishing this dress, there are a few cheats in it (the zipper instead of buttons in the back, for one). But it was oh so nice to sew again!

IMG_0781

 

Another bit of sewing I did rather hastily this week was to create the First Communion banner for Rascal. I edited out the iron-on letters on the left side of the banner, mainly because if I’ve been referring to him by nickname for 4 years on this blog, I’m not going to blow it by publishing his real name in the picture. The story behind this is one of the wryly humorous ones we’ll remember for a while. I wanted to stash-bust while making this and so when the instructions called for a white background I thought of the 20 yards of white nylon we’ve had sitting around since it was a non-returnable purchase and it wasn’t what we needed for a prior project some years ago. So I used a little of it and now does anyone want 19 yards of white nylon? I’d really rather not sew it again. 😉 I was up late sewing this also because we couldn’t remember the deadline for the banners and were afraid we’d already missed it! Turns out when Rascal went to CCD last night, he was the first in his class to turn a banner in! I want my sleep back now. 🙂 Seriously though, I was glad to get this done. 😉

IMG_0806 - Version 2

And for the Yarn Along…the finished Easter Eggs! We dyed them in Kool-Aid on Holy Saturday, and Rascal stuffed them and hung them on our porch wreath on Easter Sunday.

IMG_0790

Funny

The Lamb Cake was not a success this year. At least not as a perfectly 3-dimensional lamb with perfectly boiled icing.

IMG_0775

Real

Baby-lovin’ still going strong. Siblings vie for sister’s attention. Sister isn’t sure what to think of it all still! She just knows she’s loved. 🙂

IMG_0732 IMG_0794 IMG_0792

7 thoughts on “{Pretty, Happy, Funny, Real}

  1. Aunt Judy says:

    I love how all of your little ones, as well as my daughter’s boys, LOVE babies! If only people would realize this! How much joy it would bring to their homes! Baby love!

  2. Haus Frau says:

    I have been loving the pictures of the Storey boys too. John Paul has the best fan club ever. 😉

  3. Baby love is awesome!! What sweet siblings they are. You did a fabulous job with the dresses. I love your fabric choices. Love them!! I too love to sew…it’s brings about peace of mind and heart. Happy Easter!!

  4. Beautiful dresses, and baby pics! I all agog at what you’ve done with a newborn still on your hands. All I was doing at this point was nursing and . .. trying to sleep and . . . I don’t know what else.

  5. Haus Frau says:

    We-ell, I stressed out waaaaay too much over the banner. You don’t see that in the blog. 😉 Mainly because I vent to my husband first, vent on the blog second. 😉

Leave a Reply

