Yarn Along — Posey’s “Emma”

Reader, I finished it.

photo (99)

Just in time.

Seriously, I sewed the wee button on about two hours before leaving for the hospital for the induction. I had to take out the yoke stitches and restart which put me behindhand in progress a bit, and part of me fears I ended up making the last rows a little snug. It is perfect for her now but may or may not transition into a shirt for her later as opposed to a tunic for today. Posey Pie wore it home from the hospital.

photo (95)

Pattern: The Emma Tunic–Teeny sizes

Yarn: Lion’sBrand Nature’s Choice Organic Cotton in strawberry, a gift from my brother-and-sister-in-law.

Button: came in a set from my favorite purveyor of colorful button assortments, mariiam’s etsy shop.

On the needles at the moment: Easter eggs complements of the egg pattern in Purl Bee’s Sparrow Nest.  I’m using Knit Picks’ Bare Wool of the Andes. It’s part of the project I found to do with my children and nieces before the latter leave this weekend. I planned one egg for each child, and only have four more to make. 🙂

Reading: I finished Service with a Smile and Heavy Weather by P. G. Wodehouse. I used to own the former in a derelict used paperback form, until one fateful day I left it out on the kitchen table while attending to something. My boys, fresh from seeing the animated Adventures of Tintin: Red Rackham’s Treasure, saw the yellowed pages laying out and decided to use the book as “secret documents.” I found it in pieces in the backyard. While I did lecture them a bit about the wanton destruction of family library property, I have to see the justice of their imagination, and it did give me an excuse to get the hardback copy so I couldn’t be too mad…. 😉

9 thoughts on “Yarn Along — Posey’s “Emma”

  1. Congratulations, Theresa! Little Posey Pea is so sweet! I’m remembering a poem Ben wrote you for Valentine’s Day back in college. You read a portion of it out loud: “We’ll have as many as we can / something something, we’ll fill the van!” 😉

  2. Alicia in New Zealand says:

    Congratulations! Many years to you all! Lovely to place your child in something made with your own hands. A blessing.

Leave a Reply

