Week Recap

The week ahead promises to be chock-full of its own amazing news so I want to put up some pictures before things start rolling around here. We’ve been thrown off as usual by the “spring forward” of Daylight Savings Time (my annual groan) and with Posy Pea’s arrival imminent we decided to take Spring Break this week instead of next. This morning we had the unprecedented experience of two night owls as Miss M and Sunshine decided to be bright eyed and bushy tailed from 3am-present (well, except for Miss M, who crashed around 6:45), and as I struggle to keep the eyes open I realize our Spring Break decision was probably amongst the wisest academic decisions I made this year. šŸ˜‰

So without further eloquence…

IMG_0409

My foyer shelf, all decked out for March and April. Gardening ….

IMG_0384

…and Spring Cleaning are on the mind.

IMG_0917

Getting out on the “last” cold weekend before Easter (the previous weekend). Ā Haus Meister took the big kids back to the lake for another nature walk (and yes they did return with another driftwood piece).

IMG_0375

Two boys lost a tooth this week, one of them for the very first time!

IMG_0369

An aunt and cousins came to visit and stay with us for a few weeks while we wait for Posy Pea and welcome her home! The children areĀ loving the captive audience of their 5month old littlest cousin.

IMG_0393

Reading assignments are less of a chore with such a smiling face next to you!

IMG_0405

The oven fix mentioned a few posts ago worked for the door for all of three uses (not Haus Meister’s fault), but the error code soon returned and was replaced by another, indicating that we’d need to replace the entire control panel for the oven. As the door was still crooked, the temperature sensor still faulty, and now that, we decided just to replace the oven.Ā What joy! What rapture!

IMG_0438

Over the past weekend the weather warmed up, and so what did the corgyn do? They decided to stay glued to an inside wall. I question their intelligence.

When Miss M and Sunshine, in complete juxtaposition to their actions this morning, granted me a free hour on Friday afternoon by napping after school–both of them, at the same time–I decided to bring out my sewing machine. Almost eighteen months ago I packed up the machine because it kept tangling the thread on me as I tried to make some homemade gift bags during an Advent season. I had a pile of mending to do and figured I would at least see if I needed the machine serviced. To my surprise, the machine behaved itself and I was able to knock several mending projects off my to-do list. What a relief–I love to sew, but mending is my bane. How ironic is that? I also found a pair of cotton nightgowns at the bottom of my mending pile that needed to be scrapped. I upcycled the lower parts of them into petticoats/slips for my daughter and niece.

IMG_0421

The girls were quite excited and wore the petticoatsĀ over their skirts the rest of the day.

IMG_0437

With the balmy Spring air coming in from the deck door, the sunshine softly lighting the room, the recliner beckoning for impatient children to rest in while I “sew them up something,” and the corgi chewing on something or other down there, I become more and more convinced that I appropriated the best room in the house for my sewing nook. It’s not going to turn into a dining room again anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

