{pretty, happy, funny, real} meets Yarn-Along!

Two for one today, dear readers!

 +  

Pretty

photo (73)

I am so close to finishing the Roaring Meg sweater. That is the second sleeve on the needles, and after this is the button placket. I finished Rediscover Catholicism by Matthew Kelly. It was a good read. He had an interesting quote in there about Tolerance.

Tolerance is proclaimed as the greatest secular virtue. And yet, those who espouse tolerance are completely intolerant of all things Catholic and Christian, as well as any common code of moral conduct.

   Ever notice in the media how tolerance is used to force an agenda’s hand? For instance, look at what’s going on with the Boy Scouts right now. If they cave in, I will lose all respect for them. Any institution that founded itself on honor, decency, and helping young men reach responsible maturity isn’t showing a moral backbone at all if it bows under due to money, political pressure, or fear of being called “bigot.” It’s like they’re saying, “Boys, we want you to grow up to be trustworthy, respectful, and honest. Keep your word at all times…unless someone threatens to remove your funding. Then go spineless.”

But going back to the Yarn Along now.

I also read through Jane Austen’s Letters. She’s just as delightful in her correspondence as she is in her novels. Half of the book is notes and references, so I use two bookmarks–one to remind me what letter I’m reading and one to figure out who or what she is talking about at this or that time. I’m currently reading Northanger Abbey. I love that one–so many good lines.

photo (69)

 I found this in my photo stream. The tag came from an Etsy store purchase and I just had to keep it.

Happy

photo (71)

The farm playset is getting some mileage lately.

photo (70)

Apparently we are harvesting candy.

And strawberries were on sale this week!

photo (72)

They went fast!

Funny

photo (68)

In my last post I brought up my favorite “Hey Girl” meme (what are those things about and how did they start? I’m seriously out of it here). Here’s another one.

Ah, North and South. Gotta watch it again soon.

Real

I’ve been working on homemade Greek yogurt lately, courtesy of Grocery Shrink Plus. My first batch was a success, my second slightly less so (though I still got some plain yogurt out of the deal). This was due to the fact that I left the bowl straining the liquid out in too tempting a reach while I ran downstairs to deliver a lunch to Haus Meister, who was working in his shop (brewing the next to last batch of beer before Lent).

And then someone decided to give my kitchen a yogurt moisturizing bath.

photo (67)

So of course I had to take a picture of it.

For the record, she was NOT the one who later in the day decided to toss my iPhone into some water.

I did find a cheaper replacement. It is now permanently in my pocket.

15 thoughts on “{pretty, happy, funny, real} meets Yarn-Along!

  1. I LOVE the ‘hey girl’ photos – they just really tickle my funny bone. I so much enjoyed your phfr, especially the yogurt – that is just the kind of thing that happens in my house!!

  2. Yogurt moisturizing bath, oh my! My kitchen got an amoxicillin moisturizing bath last night! And have you seen the recent Northanger Abbey movie, starring Felicity Jones? I found it charming, though they did annoyingly change a few lines.

  3. Haus Frau says:

    I confess I haven’t read a good deal of Christian Regency novels, or at least, written in this century. I basically switch off between Elizabeth Gaskell and Jane Austen if I’m in the mood for that era.

  4. Annabelle & Haus Frau: Have you read Georgette Heyer? She wrote a LOT of Regency romance/comedies (she also wrote 20th century mysteries). Kind of Jane Austen Lite. Purposely fluffy but quite witty. Not Christian per se but clean.

  5. Elizabeth Butina says:

    If you ever want to try Georgette Heyer, Haus Frau, just let me know and I can send you a bunch of them. Her humorous writing is, in my opinion, equal to P.G. Wodehouse, and her romance is sweet and satisfying. My mom discovered her writing through the blog Happy Catholic, and passed the books on to me. They are great.

Leave a Reply

