{pretty, happy, funny, real}

A little late with my link-up today, partly because we totally overslept the alarm this morning. Haus Meister made it into work all right, but my hour or so of morning quiet never happened. It only happens about 70% of the time anyway, so I wasn’t worried. Somehow the extra hour of sleep helped. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Then, I procrastinated because the weather was suggesting we might have a taste of that Winter Storm Iago and I thought it would be grand to have SNOW pictures. Right. That never happened. All we got was a little more rain and some occasional blobs of slush hitting the windshield. I know I shouldn’t complain–I mean, ice is bad out here in these hills–but still, I miss snow. I miss the quiet in the air when there is snow. I miss standing in the yard and feeling part of all the winter stillness. Oh well, maybe next time.

Meanwhile!

Pretty Happy

This bonny lad

photo (54)

Hamming it up with Grandma (always one of his favorite people)

And this happy girl

Someday I will get a picture of her smiling...while standing still.

Someday I will get a picture of her smiling…while standing still.

Had a birthday on Saturday!

photo (58)

We ate scrumptious cupcakes

They both like John Deere, conveniently enough.

They both like John Deere, conveniently enough.

appropriately decorated.

ย And had a fun outing on a train.

But not THIS train.

But not THIS train.

Happy Pretty

(the baby, not necessarily the puffy 3rd trimester Mama. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

This is what happens

photo (53)

When Miss M

photo (52)

Sees herself on the camera.

Can I see me now?

Can I see me now?

Pretty Funny

LEGO antics, post-birthday unwrapping edition.

photo (59)

In a quieter way we celebrated my birthday on Sunday. It was actually Monday, one of our busier days of the week. I had a lovely day in the company of many of my favorite people. My parents remembered my favorite birthday cake (strawberry shortcake with angel food) and not only did they order me to sit down and put my feet up (free knitting time!) but they helped catch up on Mt. Neverrest (the laundry pile). We tried out a new mop and had a relaxing time. It can’t get much better, can it?

Well, until Haus Meister and my in-laws indulged me with enough yarn to accomplish four more projects. When I stuffed the latest KnitPicks additions into my yarn cupboard, some of the brown balls (Swish worsted in Doe) ย fell out. Mom laughed and said it reminded her of the scene with Captain Kirk inย Trouble with Tribbles.

Yep, I'm good for a while now, I think!

Yep, I’m good for a while now, I think!

This scene.

Haus Meister hopes it will never come to this.

Haus Meister hopes it will never come to this.

I could see her point. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Rather Real

This is the aftermath of a new 3yr old “helping” aerate all the dry ingredients preparatory to those scrumptious cupcakes. Sunshine found out how to speed up the mixer, and for a moment it was a veritable cloud of flour, sugar, and cocoa in my kitchen.

photo (57)

4 thoughts on “{pretty, happy, funny, real}

  1. It’s darling how much Miss M looks like you. Dad told me about her little “French” phrase when she points at things. What a dainty! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I totally picture Gordon sizing that engine up and comparing himself to it, “he did it, I’ll do it, he did it, I’ll do it.” ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Haus Frau says:

    GORDON: “You see what I mean, dear Edward?”
    EDWARD: (knowingly) “Yes, Gordon.”
    NARRATOR: “Gordon had a feeling that Edward saw only too well.”

    Ah, classic Thomas.

Leave a Reply

