Yarn Along–Koolhaas done, onto the next!

Good morning! It’s the 2nd day of the New Year and I’m pleased to say that I finished Haus Meister’s hat yesterday evening. I know I made numerous mistakes with Koolhaas, but Haus Meister told me to just keep at it (I think he feared I’d frog the thing and go on to another pattern, and he liked even how it looked with errata). Besides, I enjoyed the knit even up to the end, so altogether it was a win-win scenario. I enjoyed the work, and he enjoys the results. He even wore it around the house a bit yesterday, and Sunshine took it off his head and wore it herself for a little bit.

IMG_2954

IMG_2951

Haus Meister joked, based on his previous modeling of the Gandalf glove, that most of my backgrounds with him would feature the woodstove.

And because Daddy was modeling his hat, someone wanted to model hers.

IMG_2952

The folks at Knitting Daily are selling a Koolhaas Kit (also in blue or brown) right now, so if you want to give it a try here’s a link. I know I’m going to come back to this someday, perhaps with less nubbly yarn.

U6394

Even though the model is a girl, the hat can be for guys. In fact, most of the pictures on Ravelry show it on a man.

As for reading, I’m in the middle of Rediscover Catholicism by Matthew Kelly. Every family in our parish received a copy as a Christmas gift. I find it’s more of “rediscover actually living your faith” book, and while I am not a self-help book kind of person, I am getting some eye-opening thoughts from this. If you have a chance, see what you think of it. It isn’t a bad choice of reading material for the Year of Faith, particularly if you are looking for something quick and easy to read, and some of the things he has to say are a good challenge.

Before I forget, I said in my title “onto the next.” I do not have a picture of it yet. Haus Meister gave me some beautiful yarn for Christmas, including a hank of handspun-and-dyed wool & silk yarn that I am using to create Hetty’s Sunday Cuffs. More on these next week. I only cast on last night. 🙂

I hope all of you are still enjoying the Christmas season and the start of this fresh new year!

3 thoughts on “Yarn Along–Koolhaas done, onto the next!

  1. Haus Frau says:

    My queue is a dangerous thing. One of my New Year resolutions is to actually DO some of those projects! 😉 So of course I added more… sigh….

Leave a Reply

