Yarn Along–“Rock into Mordor” edition

 In which, I get very, very random…..consider yourselves warned.

I’m afraid my progress was next to nil on the Gandalf gloves this week. I did get within three rows of the increase, but when I had a large amount of knitting time on my hands out of the home the other day, I realized to my chagrin that I had accidentally left home without my fourth needle. I was rather afraid to attempt without it, so I didn’t.  However, I did catch a picture of the wrist so far….

Don’t the needles add a great effect to the wrist? And the little bauble? Okay, ignore the bauble. I happen to like fancy stitch markers, especially when working with a dark color (Cobblestone Heather from KnitPicks Wool of the Andes collection). But I must say the needles encircling the wrist had a rather fearsome effect that is wholly alien to my personality.

Probably not to his personality, though. This Dwalin fellow here…what can I say? Except that I totally agree with the person who suggested that this particular Dwarf could easily ride a Harley to the Lonely Mountain. I can see that. I can also see him taking the place of the Boromir spoof: “One does not simply ROCK into Mordor.” Or maybe really mix my sci-fi fantasy here and suggest that “Revenge is a dish best served cold” wouldn’t be a problem with this guy, either.

So, why am I working on a pair of men’s fingerless mitts anyway? The Hobbit had a lot to do with it. I was browsing picture galleries of the trailers to see the details in the scenery (I told you, I covet half of Bilbo’s furniture), and I noticed a lot of knitting had been going on in the costume department. Even Gandalf is sporting fingerless mitts this winter.

And I thought to myself…hmm, why not? I’ve always wanted to try to make some, and I bet there’s a Tolkien buff out there who wouldn’t mind a pair…. So we’ll see. I think I’ll have my husband model the next picture, so long as I don’t include the needles and the bauble. After all, I’m not a man, and would feel silly modeling the finished gloves. 😉

As for reading this week, I finally finished my Wodehouse shelf rampage. I read two books cover to cover that I hadn’t touched before, or read all the way: Psmith, Journalist and A Prefect’s Uncle. I love The Indiscretions of Archie, a title that sounds more than it is. Finally Psmith in the City rounded it out, mainly because just as I thought I had read the last tome, I saw it sitting there. Now I confess after that was done, I put novels aside because my Nov./Dec. edition of The English Home arrived, complete with Christmas supplement. It is indeed too early to be reading such things, but I couldn’t help myself. After all, it’s only a month and a day until “Stir-Up Sunday” and my annual baking of our Christmas pud! Huzzah!

Whew…Yarn, Tolkien, obscure Klingon reference, odd Rock reference, Gloves, Wodehouse, Britain, Christmas, Advent, and figgy pudding. All in one post!

I warned you I was going to be random. 😉

5 thoughts on “Yarn Along–“Rock into Mordor” edition

  1. You think reading about Christmas is too early, Lucy picked out a snowman/Christmas tree jumper this morning to wear! Considering she spends most days in pajamas, I’m going to allow it.;)

  2. Your mitts are going to be fabulous! We have a lot of fingerless gloves around here, but we just make them out of repurposed wool sweaters. Aragorn wears them too, in black. So cool.

Leave a Reply

