Still trying

Well, I had hoped I could finish Chapter Five two weekends ago. I hoped I could finish it last weekend. It’s coming along slowly. Before my vacation I could do about 1500 words a day. Since coming home, I’m lucky to get 700 in. But still, it is progress. Before vacation it was summer break around here. Now we’re less than a week from school starting, our air conditioner blew, I’ve been sorting out lesson plans, and we’ve rearranged the upstairs family room to become more of a classroom setting. All these are poor excuses, but it’s not like I’ve been lying on a couch eating bonbons and reading novels! šŸ˜‰

That’s a line from one of my college English professors who one day decided to tell his class of English & Literature Majors that we (being primarily female) would have to marry a man who would support us enough so that we could lay around eating bonbons and continue to read great books. The men in the class–all two–he said had no hope because they would have to find the jobs. I’m not sure what this had to do with the context of our classroom discussion on Literary Criticism, but it’s one of the tidbits of life information that has survived the ravages of time.

Nor am I sure what that paragraph has to do with my not having completed Chapter Five in the proposed time frame, but at least you know I’m still here and still working, and so I’m logging off now to do so.

šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

