{pretty, happy, funny, real}

School’s out!  We finished up last Friday–just in time for two days of rain, our first family-wide round of summer colds, and a power surge that knocked out our computer!  Yay!

So, I can’t do much this week since I’m scared to death to download pictures off my phone while the computer is recovering.  I have a lovely video on there of Rascal reciting poetry in front of his friends at the homeschool co-op.  This was a major event for him since he shares my love for public speaking (we’d rather hit our hands with hammers).  Anyway, I don’t want to lose it, so I’m guarding my phone like crazy.  It’s getting to the point where I’m about to call the phone “my Precious.”  Ok, maybe not that far. 😉

Pretty Happy.

Piling into the new hammock!  The record amount of family members in the hammock was 6 of 8.  That didn’t last long.  The kids are nuts about this thing.  They pretend it’s a boat and have many adventures.  It even got rather musical one day when Dinosaur began singing songs from Pirates of Penzance–at least until he noticed I was trying to film him.

Pretty Happy Funny

Miss Munchkin’s Mischief Mug.  She’s smirking because this was the day she flat out refused to allow me to put the tray on her high chair (she’s buckled in),  so instead of arguing the point with her, I pushed her chair up to the table.  I had dinner on, after all.  She was pretty pleased.

Pretty Funny

Root Beer bottle “swordfight”!  Lasted all of five minutes.

Pretty Real

OOPS!

Don’t get complacent.

Make sure your computer is on a surge protector.

Make sure your backup drive is in good condition.

Otherwise your computer may glitch out on you during a random power surge.  And then you’re left wondering what do you have left…. We knew this, but we laxed off.

Eight point five years of digital pictures.  Sunshine and Miss Munchkin never got their hold-in-your-hand baby albums made–the pictures were on the computer.

I’m still wondering how many pictures we get back.  That means more to us than anything else on this thing.  We seem to have images saved of everyone’s gchat picture and even Netflix titles that we never saw–that were on the screen at some point.  That’s mildly freakish.  But it remains to be told yet whether we have all of our pictures back and whether they are larger than the thumbnail picture above.

And I am going to spend a week making hold-in-your-hands REAL albums as soon as I can.

2 thoughts on “{pretty, happy, funny, real}

  1. inthemiddleofitall says:

    We finished school last Friday as well, had a bunch of rain (I’m not sure how many days, but a lot) and everyone in the house has a cold, but me.

    Fortunately, all of our computers are okay.

    Hope you all feel better soon.

  2. Haus Frau says:

    Thanks, and hope everyone gets well and that you don’t catch it! 🙂 Congrats on finishing your school year too.

Leave a Reply

