{pretty, happy, funny, real}

Capturing Contentment in the Everyday…

Happy, Real

It finally happened.  I had my “Jo March” moment.  You know that scene at the end of the 1994 movie when Winona Ryder’s character comes in the door with a basket and sees her manuscript lying on the kitchen table and starts shouting for the housekeeper: “Hannah, someone’s publishing my book!”?  Still with me?  Ok? Well, that was me today.  My book arrived.

It’s hard to describe how I felt at that moment.

Only I didn’t run around screaming for Hannah, perhaps because the kids were about and we don’t have a “Hannah” here.  Or perhaps it’s because I already did that last Friday when the book went online. 😉

Pretty Funny

Dogwood picture for my Mom!

Baby now sits solo!

And I got new shoes…

Because the dogs got at the old ones.  And there’s Real for you, too. 😉

17 thoughts on “{pretty, happy, funny, real}

  1. Grandma Rie says:

    Congratulations on receiving your published book! We received ours yesterday, too, and thank you for the picture of your dogwood in bloom. Ah, Spring is here. Loving every minute of it. Miss M looks so cute sitting up by herself. She’ll be running around with the rest of them soon. Love your new shoes, too.

    Love, Mom

  2. Congratulations! I love the scene in Julie & Julia, too, when Julia’s book arrives. I hope you celebrate– champagne at least!

  3. Haus Frau says:

    Silly dogs! Why on earth did God give them an affinity for shoe leather?

    Of course, why did I leave my shoes out that night, for that matter? 😉

  4. Sarah says:

    Glad there were no Beths to dampen the mood with scarlet fever (not that she planned that). I should be getting my copy today or tomorrow. Can’t wait!!!

  5. Haus Frau says:

    Thanks! We celebrated with a little ice cream (Talenti Gelato in Sea Salt Caramel–straight from the freezer section of the grocers). Best we could do during Lent. 😉

  6. Tracy C. says:

    Oh congratulations!! I am going to download your book as soon as I can sit and figure out how to get it to my kindle. It looks like just the thing I like to read.

  7. Belle soeur says:

    Baby looks so happy!! 🙂 ha! And I like how you put “pretty funny” instead of “pretty, funny” or something else- I also think its pretty funny that all the dogwoods are probably going to be long finished blooming by the time of the “dogwood festival” heh-heh. Oh! And I’ve started reading your book! Out loud to the girls- G says “I need to write a book back to her!” ha! Anyway, I’m enjoying it so far. You must be so proud of yourself!!

  8. Congratulations on the book! Happy indeed! Loved the dogwood blossoms! Ours are little buds buried under a layer of snow, so it was nice to see that it is springtime somewhere!

  9. Congratulations on your book! I have the biggest smile thinking of that scene in Little Women (one of my all time favorite movies) 🙂 I’m so happy for you.
    New shoes are such a joy, aren’t they. No matter what the reason.

  10. Haus Frau says:

    I like “sticktoitivness.” It goes up there with my “randomnymity.”

    Thanks to you and everyone else for your congratulations and encouragement. It took five years of overcoming a lack of self-confidence amongst other obstacles, so we feel very blessed this week and are looking forward to seeing what the future holds for the book and the story itself…. Lots of ideas cropping up in the ol’ imagination while I try to catch up on some knitting projects…

Leave a Reply

