{pretty, happy, funny, real}

Capturing Contentment in the Everyday…

It has been a whirlwind week, it seems.  My brother-in-law and his family are visiting for a while as he is interning with a local law firm, and the cousins have kept my sister-in-law and I amused and busy.  🙂  Of course, both of us keep forgetting to bring out a camera to photo-document these fun and crazy times, which have included preserving cherry jam, picking blueberries and blackberries, being chased by wasps, making mud pies, and spending lots of time and paper making small masterpieces in the medium of colored pencil and crayon. 😉  But what I could glean from my camera and other places comes here now….

Pretty

One quiet morning, while browsing the Sew Mama Sew! webstore during my morning cuppa, Princess joined me and immediately fell in love with this pattern.  So like the sucker I can be at times, I purchased it without hesitation.  It is definitely a dress made for my Princess.  Now if only I can make it look something like the cover….

Happy

I love this picture.  He’s enjoying a summer evening, enjoying the new baseball bat of Grandma’s, and is ready to take on the world.

Funny

Princess hat, navy blue shirt (backwards), hot pink skirt (actually from Sunshine’s drawer), mismatched Hanna Andersson socks, and fancy church shoes (the heels make a click-clack sound.  Oh, and they are on the wrong foot).  Eating a carrot on the kitchen table–not usually tolerated but then, she is, obviously, Royalty and exceptions must be made. 😉

Real

Just when I thought I had finally, finally, caught up on laundry…. the realization sets in that laundry around here is never, hardly ever, to be “done.” 😉

5 thoughts on “{pretty, happy, funny, real}

  1. A perfect Princess dress 🙂 I love her getup there for snack.
    And it breaks my heart that laundry is never really done but so it goes. The only options really aren’t great either 😉

  2. Oh what a great pattern! I hope you also make the little hair accessory 🙂

    Also, I can totally relate with the laundry. I work so hard on it but it truly is a never ending task! Sometimes, my heart sinks a little when my husband throws his dirty socks in an EMPTY basket because I know its the beginning of another pile….oh but I try my best to take joy in it! It’s a service to my family!

Leave a Reply

