Sewing and Read-Alouds, Summer Week 1.

This post should have been written last night, at the end of Week 1 (it’s more like Week 2, but we had such a crazy first week of vacation that it only really felt like Summer break this week), but truth be told I was catching up on some needed Zzzzzs. 😉

Firstly, permit me a moment to gloat over the fact that I did manage to accomplish the other project began on Monday–the day Princess decided on the pillowcase dress that she doesn’t want to wear.  I had an old project-in-the-works, a dress in two pieces, meant to be sewn together and zipper added and etc. in time for Princess to wear last summer.  Then I messed up and had to separate bodice from skirt, and never managed to get back to it before Fall set in.  So I thought I would make it up for Sunshine this Spring, but had zero motivation to finish the dress as I was intimidated by the zipper.  I prefer sewing kids’ clothes that snap or pull over; I’m lousy at sewing zippers.  I thought I’d modify the skirt a little and attach it to the bodice of the pinafore in this pattern from my Grandma’s stash:

I thought the pinafore would make a fun swing top or something for the girls this summer, something airy and cute.  With the skirt I’d made it would be less voluminous, but still workable.  It was fun to think that Grandma probably made an outfit from this pattern for my Mom or one of my aunts.  I wonder who?

Well, here it is–my version, anyway.

I had a difficult time getting an up-close non-blurry picture, mainly because Sunshine had chosen that moment to hang on my arms.  The top looked adorable on both girls, but it has to be closeted until next summer.  1960 size 4 isn’t 2011 size 4, and silly me who should have known better didn’t measure the girls first!  It was a baggy top on Princess and a baggy dress on the Sunshine.  However, all is not lost; they will, unfortunately sometimes it seems, be growing between now and next summer. 🙂

I did get to use this cute button from my growing button collection.  I am nuts about buttons, ribbons, lace, notions, all that sort of thing.  I thought this button fit the daisy theme, although I ought to have used a different thread color to attach it.  I wasn’t thinking at the time; that button was the one thing between myself and Project Completion.  Next time I try this pattern I’ll make a smoother seam between bodice and skirt–I couldn’t help but wish I had French-seamed it, for instance.  But it is done, and so onto the next! 🙂

Meanwhile, we have been continuing our Summer-Read-Aloud Program here at home.  One difficulty is not getting the kids to sit down and listen, but to pick a title we haven’t read two or three or fifteen times during the week.  Recapping from earlier and adding since then, we now total 15 titles read.

  1. The Poky Little Puppy (Little Golden Book) 
  2. Nurse Nancy (Little Golden Book)
  3. Doctor Dan the Bandage Man (Little Golden Book)
  4. The Happy Man and his Dump Truck (Little Golden Book)
  5. I like Winter by Lois Lenski
  6. Pelle’s New Suit by Elsa Beskow
  7. Fireflies in the Night from the Let’s-Read-And-Find-Out-Science Series
  8.  Happy Birthday, Dear Duck by Eve Bunting, illustrated by Jan Brett
  9. Jamie O’Rourke and the Big Potato by Tomie diPaola
  10. Jamie O’Rourke and the Pooka by Tomie diPaola
  11. Hey! Wake Up! by Sandra Boynton (A board book that Trooper found on the shelf and brought it to me because he loved it once, and he doesn’t often request stories).
  12. Little Bear by Else Homelund Minarik
  13. Little Bear’s Friend by Else Homelund Minarik
  14. Little Bear’s Visit by Else Homelund Minarik
  15. Pascual and the Kitchen Angels by Tomie diPaola
There we have it.  Now to bring out a few more titles for next week.  Poor Doctor Dan the Bandage Man will need to be bandaged up itself if it goes through the summer like it went through this week! 🙂

One thought on “Sewing and Read-Alouds, Summer Week 1.

Leave a Reply

