{pretty, happy, funny, real}

Capturing Contentment in the Everyday…

Pretty


There’s just something about  vintage linens (for me, anyway).  This is from a stash my mother-in-law inherited from her parents’ estate.

Happy


Sisters hand in hand, repeatedly and happily walking around the house.  I’m not entirely sure what their game was, but they were enjoying it.  And they weren’t tackling each other, which is more than I can say for two of their older brothers.

Funny

Sometimes it’s better not to inquire.

Real


Ah, now here’s the rub.  This was taken on a day when the kids had trashed the basement sitting room with three boxes of various toys (wooden train tracks, Lincoln Logs, and Hot Wheels).  Now, all of the boxes were near, and the mess could have been cleaned up in under half an hour.  Well under half an hour.  Instead the Rascal played every stalling tactic in the book and I found myself with less and less patience beginning to say things that sounded remarkably like the things my Dad would say to us girls when it had taken us three hours on a Saturday to do what little we had done to clean our shared bedroom.  Dad, you would have laughed.  😉  After revoking treats and privileges for the nonce, we piled into the van for our general errands.  I’m sorry to say the strawberry stand was out of berries and closed by the time we arrived, but it gave me the time to swing by our parish church and check out the Ladies of Charity yard sale (special early bird sale for parishioners today) in case we’d luck out on a $5 bread machine again.  No such luck.  Instead, my Rascal scored this 50cent truck.  A treat, and a privilege, and yes…

I was inconsistent.

Now if that isn’t real…. 😉

10 thoughts on “{pretty, happy, funny, real}

  1. Hilarious costume! I can understand why you would choose not to inquire… but at the same time, I’m very curious! 🙂

  2. Love the picture of your little girls! So sweet. The linen is beautiful! I love vintage linens, they seem to make everything look prettier somehow!

  3. Haus Frau says:

    Unfortunately, I had already caught him off guard by taking the picture. No explanation would then have been given, even had I asked. 😉 Or rather, he would have responded, probably with a “Hattah!” and a pseudo-karate chop. 😉

  4. Love the vintage linens! I’ve got a whole box of embroidered tea towels that are just too pretty for the kind of abuse mine take…what to do with them…
    And seriously–why is it so hard for kids to just put the toys back in the box?! 20 minutes to put away 50 blocks? Why?

  5. I love vintage linens!! I work in a big antiquing area and I would be lying if I said we didn’t shop a lot at lunch. The linens are my downfall!

    Also, your little dude in the pumpkin outfit is hilarious.

  6. LOVE the pumpkin costume! Too funny! My favorite though are the vintage linen’s. They are stunning. What a gift to have! Just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

