Small Successes — First Week of Advent edition

It’s important for moms to recognize that all the small successes in our days can add up to one big triumph. So on Thursday of each week, we do exactly that.

1) We have about 97% of our Christmas shopping done, thanks to the luxury of online stores.  Now we just need a well-timed trip to Target or something….without the kids….which is harder to accomplish right now than you would think. 😉

2) The Jesse Tree mentioned in the previous post, which is keeping alive the idea of Advent as a season of waiting and patience, especially hanging just one ornament a day!

3) We got the family Christmas card picture taken, with 3/5ths of the children smiling and everyone looking generally in the same direction–at least they all faced forward!  Huzzah! 🙂

Last week we took a Fall break and enjoyed Thanksgiving with both sets of grandparents around one table.  As dinner was at my in-laws’ house, I only had to make the desserts.  Sweet Potato Casserole and three pies!  The pecan pie needed help (whipped cream doing the trick) but the two pumpkin pies were fine, I believe.  The look of three pies in my oven was like something out of a magazine.  Quite yummy, too.  I like that Thanksgiving responsibility.  😉

3 thoughts on “Small Successes — First Week of Advent edition

  1. Great list! Love #3. Isn’t it funny how our expectations are often different from the rest of the world?

    Love to Jesse Tree list as well. We’ve attempted it many years but I think I always tried way too many things for Advent. I really like the idea though and I think that one needs to be on my list. It’s not too late!

  2. Grandma Rie says:

    Yes, the convenience of online shopping. When I was growing up my Mom used the Sears and JC Penney catalogs and called it in and my Dad would pick it up at night and we were none the wiser. Love, Grandma Rie

  3. LOVE to point and click instead of hunt and park! On-line shopping is about half of what we do each year. I am so thankful for it. Great list of successes tis week!

Leave a Reply

