Vague instructions for hot cocoa

 

The chill of November has finally reached us, more or less.  This past Thursday I wrote the ingredients for homemade hot cocoa on my shopping list.  One memorable winter when I was in my early teens, my mother made a huge batch of this stuff and stored it in a large bucket with a tupperware lid.  We scooped cocoa mix out of that for the whole winter.  It was so much fun.  Now, I’m low on spare buckets around here so I also bought a 32cup storage container.  Coming home, I made the cocoa mix and presented a steaming mug to my official taste tester, aka Haus Meister.  My other official taste testers were already asleep.  He thought it needed more cocoa, but I think it greatly depends on how much mix you add.  It can definitely be too watery.  I also did not follow my mom’s recipe to the letter because I had a big tub of cocoa at home.  Anyway, here’s my vague recipe with even vaguer instructions:

  • 1 standard box instant dry milk.
  • 1 bag powdered sugar, 1 cup removed
  • 2 boxes Hersheys cocoa (or cocoa of your choice)
  • 1 8-10oz container instant coffee creamer

Mix these together and seal in airtight container.  Add liberal helping to your mug.  Fill with hot water.  Stir and enjoy, with or without marshmallows.

Leave a Reply

