Small Successes — Stitching Edition

It’s important for moms to recognize that all the small successes in our days can add up to one big triumph. So on Thursday of each week, we do exactly that.

 

1) I have been able to work on Princess’ Christmas stocking for a little while each day this week.  I started cross-stitching one for her two years ago–as soon as we found out we’d be having a girl–but I was trying to modify a rectangular design to accomodate a stocking shape, and ran out of time for her first Christmas.  So I picked it up again last year, only to realize I had made a few mistakes which I had forgotten to remedy, and besides, I was not enthusiastic again about having to modify the design.  So I set it aside.  This year I was in denial about the stocking, period.  I made a fabric stocking for her first Christmas that she could use again, maybe sharing with Sunshine.  And then I found this book in a series of Christmas cross-stitch books I’m collecting, and inside was a sampler stocking that I knew I could do easily this fall.  Good bye to the old stocking, on to the new!

2) The other night I went “all out” and made a crockpot roast beef, mashed potatoes, salad, and a Harvest Pound Cake for dessert.  It was quite enjoyable.  On the other hand, I find I’m the only one in the family who seems to be enthusiastic about what Rascal calls “Smashed Potatoes.”

3) Keeping the laundry at bay, one load at a time.  I think I did actually see the bottom of the hamper once this week. 😉

 

5 thoughts on “Small Successes — Stitching Edition

  1. Yeah for that yummy meal and the new stocking! And laundry seems to be a common theme this week…I hope we can see the finished product for the stocking.

  2. Very good week for you! My family isn’t big on smashed potatoes either. Still try them every now and then in hopes their taste buds mature.

  3. It’s nice to see I’m not the only one who abandons craft projects. Good for you for starting on the stocking again! Roast beef with “smashed potatoes” sounds like the perfect fall dinner. Now that it’s getting chilly I should start making mashed potatoes again.

  4. You’re making the stocking for your daughter? That is completely amazing! My mother cross stitches a stocking for each of her children (12 so far) I am completely and utterly in awe of the women who can do that!
    I love fall baking! I love that you went all out on dinner for it! Last Sunday I went all out and made potato and sausage soup and had apple crisp for desert!

  5. Haus Frau says:

    I love how many of our successes involve laundry. 🙂

    Actually, I cross-stitched stockings for the three boys as well. I tend to set such ambitiously high standards for myself, blast it! 😉 Usually I get them done before the child’s second Christmas, but it didn’t work out for Princess. Third’s the charm!

Leave a Reply

