Small Successes–Last of August already? edition

It’s important for moms to recognize that all the small successes in our days can add up to one big triumph. So on Thursday of each week, we do exactly that.

1) I was able to get to the dentist for my biannual teeth cleaning.  This is a mixed success.  I don’t particularly enjoy going to the dentist.

2) I finally found out how to boil tomatoes into the right consistency for spaghetti sauce.  Now I need to work on the spices.  One batch had to be tossed for being extremely oversalted.  I should have known better than to follow a recipe asking for 1/2 c salt!  The second batch fared slightly better– only it was oversugared.

3) In the realm of practicing-what-we-preach, we’ve been trying lately to instill in our children the virtue of contentment, as in, be content with the things you have rather than constantly want more more more.  This has had an impact on us as well.   Haus Meister and I talked over some dream houses last night, to the point that our perfectly fine little house was showing all its imperfections, but then we came to the conclusion separately that we really are just fine here.   He thought of it while mowing the lawn.  I thought of it while sweeping the floor.  This is our house.  I am Queen here.  And it is good. So after school is over today, I’m going to browse paint swatches.  😉

5 thoughts on “Small Successes–Last of August already? edition

  1. Number three is a really good one. I think learning to be content with what you have is very important. Its so hard to teach kids to be content when we’re in society that is driven by consumerism. You spaghetti sauce with the 1/2 cup of salt made me remember the year I made peanut butter cookies for all my teachers and realized after the fact that I mixed up the measurements for the salt and sugar. Many years later and I still feel bad for anyone who bit into any of those cookies.

  2. Elizabeth Butina says:

    The last time I went to the dentist, I had five cavities. It took three more visits to get them all filled. I’m going back in a couple weeks for my next cleaning, and just praying they don’t find any more! My dental health really seems to suffer after a baby–after Rose, I had gum disease, and after Hank I had two or three new cavities. Ugh!

    Good for you on #3! I’ve been having a hard time with being content ever since Maggie was born–and not just with the house. It’s a struggle.

  3. Since I have bad teeth, I’m at the dentist more than I would like.

    I love your thought of being Queen of your house — I’m going to try that on for size here.

  4. Great list! I haven’t managed to even make the appointment to go to the dentist. I think I’m subconsciously avoiding it….What an inspiration! Maybe I’ll get on the phone this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

