Small Successes – Apple for the Teacher edition

It’s important for moms to recognize that all the small successes in our days can add up to one big triumph. So on Thursday of each week, we do exactly that.

1) The popularity of the homemade John Deere sleepset amongst the younger boys rose to such levels that I used up leftover material to make two more appliqued night shirts, another pair of shorts for Dinosaur and a pair of sleep pants for Rascal.  At this rate I might just order the bolt of fabric so I needn’t have to worry about pajamas for them next year. 😉

2) I’ve ordered all of Rascal’s birthday presents and am starting to plan for Princess’ big day.  Rascal’s impending birthday inaugurates what we call the (Immediate) Family Birthday Season.  Four of us celebrate between August and December, and then three of us have birthdays within two days of each other in January.

3) As I imply from the title of my post, we began school this week.  We’re only a week earlier than the local Catholic school, and we wanted to just get started.  Since coming home from vacation we almost felt like summer was behind us.  It’s so incredibly humid right now that it isn’t fun to be outside for any significant length of time (unless, of course, you’re at a water park), and so the kids were watching more movies than was good for any of us.  Also, I wanted to get our 90 days in and not have to do school Christmas week, plus have a little break in the Fall.  And then there’s those four birthdays.  Remember having to go to school on your birthday?  Not fun.  So we started school on Monday, and we’re all happier for a firmer routine.

3 thoughts on “Small Successes – Apple for the Teacher edition

  1. I”m with Violin Mama! What a great week! I love the birthday breakdown…all four of us in my house celebrate between August and December. It gets crazy!
    Happy Sewing!

  2. Elizabeth Butina says:

    Good for you! I have to admit, I’m not starting any school stuff until September (but then, in my state, there is no regulation regarding our homeschooling until Rose turns eight).

Leave a Reply

