We pause our narrative tale…..

….for a little bit of gloating.  This afternoon I had a free moment to try my hand at making  a pair of sleep shorts for the Dinosaur out of some John Deere fabric I had on hand.  I used this tutorial, only using shorts for a pattern instead of pants.  Suffice to say it went pretty well, for once.  I think I hemmed one leg a little higher than the other, but that’s fixable.  It took me all of 20 minutes to do, so I was pleased.

Dinosaur was more than pleased with them.  He put them on and wouldn’t change (it apparently didn’t bother him being in his jammies at 430pm).  He gave me the biggest hug and said, “I wuv you, Mom.”  No reward is greater, let me tell you.

Then the ever-practical Rascal sees it and asks skeptically, “But where’s the shirt?”

Humph.

***Update.  Since blogging the above I have made John Deere sleep-shirts for both Rascal and Dinosaur by using JD applique from another panel of fabric and sewing it onto old undershirts.  I now have the problem that they want to live in their jammies.  On the other hand, it’s a compliment.  They like what I made for them!  I’ll take it.

homesewn John Deere sleep set

2 thoughts on “We pause our narrative tale…..

  1. Grandma Rie says:

    Seems Rascal takes after his Grandma Rie. :)- I’m proud of you and your talents.
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

