Small Successes–Last in April edition

It’s important for moms to recognize that all the small successes in our days can add up to one big triumph. So on Thursday of each week, we do exactly that.

1) I mended something as soon as I noticed the tear, without tossing it in my “to-do’ sewing box (to be forgotten, of course).

2) I caught up on the laundry.  Towels, sheets, everyone’s laundry basket…every basket had a day of emptiness.  It was nice.

3) I mopped the floors. Usually I delegate that to Haus Meister, but he happened to be out-of-town for work on the evening that the lasagna hit the floor and grapes were smashed by Princess–also on the floor.   I could have just cleaned up that mess, but then I decided to wash the kitchen and living room floors as well (we have hardwood floors).  I’m glad I did.

4) Bonus Success really goes to Haus Meister for setting this up.  We updated our life insurance policy with the Knights of Columbus, and included a policy for me this time.  It was a necessary thing to do, and we’re glad we did… but still, it’s unnerving for a wife to hear, “in the event of the death of your husband, Mrs. X, this…this..this and this…” It was enough for me to want to close my eyes, plug my ears and think of a happy place. 😉

6 thoughts on “Small Successes–Last in April edition

  1. Great list! We just upgraded my KOC policy a few months ago. My husband has his policy through another company. I totally agree with you – the whole talking about losing your other half is overwhelming. One insurance agent actually used the phrase “How much money would you need to feel whole again after your husband’s death?” – UMMM—no amount of money would fix that problem!

  2. Love the bonus success! Very good thing to do…we’ve had life insurance on both of us for years, but I have to admit that I’m still trying to get hubby on board for making a will (also very important…) it’s not that he’s against will making, he just doesn’t think we need to do it right now. I think it makes hubby want to close his eyes, plug his ears and think of a happy place…

  3. Eesh! I know what you mean about #1 and #4! (But I kind of ignored the new hole in my husband’s work pants this week and I know it’s just going to keep getting bigger)

    Great week!

  4. LOVE #1. I have a whole pile of mending upstairs that is calling my name. Now i have to go take care of it. Thanks for inspiring me to move!
    Blessings and Grace…

Leave a Reply

