Small Successes: ‘Here’s to my trusty broom’ edition

It’s important for moms to recognize that all the small successes in our days can add up to one big triumph. So on Thursday of each week, we do exactly that.

1) I have found an easier way for me to keep track of Trooper’s daily achievements for his school journal.  It’s not what I originally planned on (a checklist on the fridge as opposed to a more traditional planner in my bookshelf), but it works and I remember to do it.  Ahhhh….peace is wonderful.  This success however, has nothing to do with my broom.

2) I swept behind the couches in the living room.  Here’s where the broom comes in.  Depending upon your tolerance level for dustbunnies, this could count as an ‘extraordinary’ success.

3) I cleaned out under the boys’ beds.  Jane Austen said it best: “Men never know when things are dirty or not.”  The boys will put their clothes in their laundry basket, and occasionally all of them will return a book to the shelf, and they will generally clear the floor, but if they can’t see it in front of them, it doesn’t exist.   I came, I saw, I swept.

4 thoughts on “Small Successes: ‘Here’s to my trusty broom’ edition

  1. Wonderful successes! I think the out of site out of mind mentality also exists for girls prior to a certain age. My girls love to hide massive messes.

  2. Yay for sweeping! I just need to come up with a better way to get the crumbs out of my bed. (Yeah, not under, IN my bed) Either that or figure out a way to keep toddlers from climbing into it while eating a snack, or just after playing in the sand box!!

  3. What a GREAT list. Very inspirational for me, even with a new baby due within days? weeks? Bless you for inspiring me to keep going!!

    Much love!

Leave a Reply

