On the eve of Earth Day

Yesterday our mail came to us–a week’s worth.  I went through the pile and sorted between “keeps” and “not-keeps,” allowing the kids to have fun with the “not-keeps” pile.  I admit I tossed into a “not-keeps” pile an envelope from a pro-life group asking for money.  I already donate to a pro-life group, and I thought at a glance that this one had the earmarks of those chain charity letters, you know, the spam mail of snailmail: “Without your $25 disasters beyond your imagination will occur.”  So I didn’t open it.  Instead I went with the “keeps” pile to my “home office” binder where I keep our bills.

Moments later Rascal shows up with something in his hand.  “What IS this, Mommy?” he asks me in a small voice.

I looked.

It was a graphic picture of an aborted baby.

Instinctively I yanked it out of his hand.  It had come from that pro-life envelope.  I couldn’t answer him; I distracted him.  I whirled him back to a happy place where such tragedies don’t exist.  He’s four years old–he doesn’t need to wrap his mind around the concept of abortion.  He doesn’t need to know yet that we live in a world where it is deemed OKAY, where it is LEGAL to murder babies.  Babies like he once was.  Babies like all of his siblings once were.

My initial knee-jerk reaction was to say, “Oh, WHY do they SEND these things?”  But I was wrong, and I knew it immediately.  After all, had I opened the envelope myself he would never have seen it.

The correct response is: “THEY SHOULD NOT HAVE TO SEND THESE THINGS.

I should not have to tell Rascal and his brothers and sisters about abortion.

In two days we’ll celebrate Earth Day.  The headlines in the media outlets are already urging us to live “green” and to do what we can to “protect” the earth.  And of course, there will be the urgent suggestions, the banal retelling of the old myth of over-population.  Save the world by preventing human life!  So according to them, we also need to embrace the contraceptive mentality…the same mentality that, among so many other evils (the “need” for abortion, erosion of the family, breakdown of marriage, rise in breast cancer, etc.) is poisoning our streams.  Yes, that’s “green” all right.

Here’s a quote from Pope Benedict XVI:

“If there is a lack of respect for the right to life and to a natural death, if human conception, gestation and birth are made artificial, if human embryos are sacrificed to research, the conscience of society ends up losing the concept of human ecology and, along with it, that of environmental ecology…. It is contradictory to insist that future generations respect the natural environment when our educational systems and laws do not help them to respect themselves.

Emphasis mine.

Remember on Earth Day that there is NOT ONE  concrete legitimate reason anyone can say that abortion and birth control have made this world a better place to live in, and not one legitimate reason to believe it will EVER make the world a better place.

3 thoughts on “On the eve of Earth Day

  1. Belle Soeur says:

    This is something I feel strongly about and I’ll try not to ramble:-) I wish there were more Catholics like us that respect life in all forms. I think it is sad that there is this great divide between “pro-lifers” and “crunchy green lifers.” I happen to be both. I believe in the sanctity of all human life, I also believe in caring for our earth. The pope said it- nice quote. It doesn’t make since to “not abort/contracept/etc” if we are trashing our environment. It also doesn’t make since to protect our planet and not our future humans. C’mon people! Pick a side and stick with it. Though I am not pro-Obama, the optimistic side of me was happy to hear that he likes arugula and his wife is very supportive of organic agriculture…. it’s a start, right? :p I feel like we Catholics need to be the good examples, we need to be pro-life by, sure, not aborting our babies, but maybe also by feeding them breastmilk and organic food too:-) and teaching them, showing them respect for all things… How about natural conception, natural pregnancy and birth and actually raising your children instead of letting someone else do it… What makes me mad also, is like you said those birth control pills polluting our water- how is it that that is not pollution and the exhaust from our cars is?! To be totally cliche- you can’t have your cake and eat it too, right? And I am not looking forward to the day when I’ll have to tell my daughters what abortion is. Sorry, Haus Frau, this is long.

  2. Elizabeth Butina says:

    Last Sunday at mass, Rose was given one of those little prayer cards to spiritually adopt a baby in danger of abortion, and was asking me about it. No gruesome picture or anything, but I really didn’t want her to know what abortion was yet. Thankfully, she can’t sound out “abortion” yet, so I was able to tell her it was a prayer for baby who was sick or in trouble. But I felt just the way you do about telling her about abortion. She’s so sensitive, and she loves babies so much. I really think it would be traumatic for her to find out this young.

Leave a Reply

