End of Lent musings

My Lenten bush has bloomed.

My magnolia bushes have the uncanny sense to bloom just at or around Holy Week every year.  This year is no exception.  Even the color of the blossom seems to fit the tone of the week.

I have to confess: I am such a wimp.  Last week (the week beginning 3/22) was not one of my better ones.  It wasn’t the worst week of my life, but it was just crummy.  I felt like I was constantly running late for things, constantly behind, behind, behind.  I felt we were never going to get used to missing that hour cut out by Daylight Savings Time the week before.  I felt that everything I was doing was just not good enough.  Hmph.  Pity party.  I just needed to get through the week until I could refresh and recollect myself over the weekend.

Fortunately, Saturday dawned bright and sunny and we had a marvelous weekend.  I did come into this week feeling 100% better, despite occasionally wishing I had that missing hour back. Tuesday evening I was at church participating in the “Jesus in Jerusalem” round-the-clock Adoration that our parish puts on from Palm Sunday through Holy Thursday every year.  I was thinking over the past week and realizing what a big baby I had been.  What came to mind principally was the fact that once upon a time, Someone had a real bad week ahead of Him.  Worse than anything I could imagine.  And He had always been aware that this week was waiting for Him; it was the very reason He came into the world.  And once He got through this horrible week, there would come a weekend of victory and rejoicing.  But first, He had to get through it.

And of course, it came to mind that our sins put Jesus on the cross.  That He could see everything we did or didn’t do for Him.  That even my whining and complaining had something to do with what we commemorate today, the event of two thousand years ago.

Oh yes, I’m a wimp.  And that bad week of mine?  Pretty insignificant.

Thank You, Jesus.  “We adore You, O Christ, and we praise You.  Because by Your Holy Cross, You have redeemed the world.”

Leave a Reply

