Small Successes–Pictorial edition

It’s important for moms to recognize that all the small successes in our days can add up to one big triumph. So on Thursday of each week, we do exactly that.

Haus Meister and I took some time this week to finish old projects and accomplish some small ones that have been on the list for a while.  Haus Meister’s projects involved power tools and paint, and I didn’t seem to get a picture of them this week.  Here’s some other successes for Pictorial Edition #1:

1) I finished a nightgown for Princess!  This is one that I had planned for  the winter but ran out of time before Christmas.  It had long sleeves, which I thought unnecessary for the summer months ahead.  I guessed at the  sleeve length and altered it, and it didn’t turn out bad, I think–it’s just not cap-sleeved like the first one I made.  However, looking at it, I might try and copy it in a year or two for a Spring/Summer top for the girls.  Maybe. The hem is wrinkled due to the fact that she had just tried it on.

2) Homemade vanilla extract is in the works.  Haus Meister and I collaborated on this one.  I need to shake the bottle daily for about 12 more days and it should be ready.


3) Grasshopper Fudge Cake. A new St. Patrick’s Day tradition.  Picture removed for the sake of those readers who gave up desserts for Lent.

So to end with another picture, here’s a look at our homegrown Easter grass, one of the few “houseplants” we’ve been able to keep alive! 😉

No, it doesn’t stay in the kitchen.  I just happened to need all the space on my laundry folding table that morning. 😉

4 thoughts on “Small Successes–Pictorial edition

  1. Homemade vanilla extract? I’m more than a little intrigued.

    What an adorable nightgown! My sewing machine is in the garage collecting dust… you MIGHT have just inspired me to begin pondering the thought of… at least removing the dust 😀 (small successes, right?).

    What a great week!

  2. Haus Frau says:

    Farmer’s City Wife: No worries. You should have seen the layer of dust I had to remove from the machine prior to making the nightgown. On the other hand, no one really needs to see that layer of dust. It is better to pretend it does not exist. 😉

Leave a Reply

