Small Successes–the anti-procrastination edition

It’s important for moms to recognize that all the small successes in our days can add up to one big triumph. So on Thursday of each week, we do exactly that.

I suppose I’ve given this blogpost a rather bombastic title, but this past week I determined to procrastinate no longer on some jobs around here that I knew I ought to accomplish.

1: Shredding paper clutter.  I had obsolete bills from 2007 still sitting in my file box!  The children enjoyed watching the shredder in action.  At one point I feared they would want me to shred every piece of paper in the house.

2: Working on the 40 bags in 40 days challenge.  I tackled areas I’d rather not go–like under my bed, or the back of my closet.  Then, when dealing with things I knew the children didn’t need/want anymore–but which they would suddenly decide they did if they saw it (old bath toys, for instance) –I felt like I was in some sort of espionage stunt.  I always seemed to be sneaking around them to hide things in the donation box or chuck into the outside trash can.  😉

3:  Mending!!! This is the task that I manage to finish in ten minutes or less sometimes.  I am always ashamed at how quickly I am finished with it, especially as the article to be mended has usually been lying on my sewing table for several weeks–even months.    Well, I managed to fix four things with a whirr of my sewing machine in about 20 minutes tops.  It really is pathetic how I put off that job.

3 thoughts on “Small Successes–the anti-procrastination edition

  1. So your number 3 is actually on my Lenten to-do list. I fix things about twice a year and figured if I didn’t write it down it wouldn’t get done. Now here I am half-way through Lent and it’s still not done! But you’ve inspired me. I’m going to cross it off before next week’s Small Successes!

  2. My mending is the same! When I finally get to it I am stunned by how easy it actually was to sew on that button, and I wonder why I waited 7 months to do it!

Leave a Reply

