On hold.

When I awoke this morning after a surprisingly restful sleep, I was a bit chagrined that what had looked so promising yesterday should be gone today.  On the other hand, I’m now able to look upon the whole “false labor” episode with “equanimity.”  😉

I told Haus Meister today that I was glad God gave us an extra bit of time to finish up a few more things around here before Baby came.  There were still cookies to be baked, still some cards to be sent and presents wrapped.  The children still have some sniffles to recover from and we needed to get the new crib up (the old one had been recalled).  Fortunately, we’ve been able to accomplish most of that.  Unfortunately, the sniffles still linger.

I felt so energetic earlier this afternoon as I wrote on the kids’ little school chalkboard: “Christmas Break! Back to School January 4, 2010”, that I almost sat down and began to look at lesson plans for that said week and arrange workboxes accordingly.  Maybe that’s too efficient for the 4th week of Advent.   In any case, I wasn’t able to get around to that particular goal. 😉

Now I’m off to dip some peanut butter balls into chocolate, and hopefully get Haus Meister’s present wrapped.  We’ll see.

**Since posting the above, I think I have confirmed that despite my boast that I’ve never been in the “radical nesting” phase of the third trimester, owing to the fact that I’m always nesting, I truly am actually in said phase. I should have known on Monday when I added two new craft books to my Amazon.com wishlist.  I should have known yesterday when I began panicking over the unwrapped presents.  I should have known this afternoon when I actually contemplated setting everything up for the beginning of next semester!  But now, having wasted…er…spent the last half-hour perusing various crafting blogs and bookmarking several ideas for later, do I admit that I am definitely in the radical nesting phase, and I definitely need to hie myself into the kitchen to get to work on the peanut butter balls. 😉

It takes me a while to admit these things, sometimes.

One thought on “On hold.

  1. Elizabeth Butina says:

    Ah, nesting. I stayed up way too late last night cleaning off the kitchen countertops and cleaning the laundry room sink. Totally necessary before baby comes, right? HA! Of course, the rest of my house looks like a bomb went off, but it’s only going to get worse over the next couple of days anyway, so what the heck.

Leave a Reply

