“I shall conquer this. I shall.”

(Brownie points to the person who gets the movie quote in the title.)

So it begins.  Haus Meister came down with a cold the night before we left on our Thanksgiving trip.  Trooper and Princess followed suit.  Now I am fighting it off.  Images of last year run through my head… colds and croup from Thanksgiving through New Years…

Not this year.  I’m going out to buy a gallon of chicken soup (since I left all my homemade broth at home).  Chicken soup…and Vicks.  We are going to kick back, read books, and relax.  If Rascal and Dinosaur keep from catching this, we’ll be good to go, especially since Rascal is the one who always catches croup.

Meanwhile, Hobbit Dog is a pansy when it comes to temperature.  If it is lower than 50F outside, he doesn’t want to leave the back porch.  For the first time in my life I might actually purchase a dog sweater.

I guess also this would be the first time in my life a dog would look reasonably decent (i.e. not ridiculous) in a sweater.

2 thoughts on ““I shall conquer this. I shall.”

  1. Elizabeth Butina says:

    Hope you’re feeling better soon (and that the cold doesn’t spread to anyone else). My kids were sick through almost all of October (croup, and a mystery virus with horrible rash) and it was miserable. That’s one of the reasons that my pre-baby decluttering has not moved along on schedule. (My recent addiction to Lord Peter Wimsey mystery novels being the other reason).

    The brownie points shall be mine! The quote is, of course, Mr. Darcy (played by Colin Firth) in Pride and Prejudice. 🙂

  2. Jennie says:

    Praying you all feel better soon! Our dog hates the cold, too, and he’s at least half Husky…I don’t think he’d look so good in a dog sweater.

Leave a Reply

