Small Successes — first in November

It’s important for moms to recognize that all the small successes in our days can add up to one big triumph. So on Thursday of each week, we do exactly that.

I love November.  I know I’m odd in this respect (among others).  If I remember correctly, November is mentioned in nearly every book of the Anne of Green Gables series and none too favorably.  However, right now my yard is a brilliance of gold and brown and scarlet and the weather has been perfect for little children to be outside every day with their new puppy… which brings me to our successes this week.

1) Really belongs to Haus Meister: he found the perfect puppy for us.  Admittedly, I saw him first. 😉  Our favorite neo-hippie health food store happened to be holding an Animal Adoption Fair along with its Farmers Market last Saturday.  It’s the first and only time I think I’ll ever find us coming home with a puppy from the grocers.  😉  (Well, it didn’t happen quite that fast–we did go home and discuss it a bit).  Anyway, our Welsh corgi mix is doing very well here.  He fits right in with the boys and is sweet and tolerant of Princess poking him in the nose.

2) Thanks to the dog going in and out, and the kids, and all the leaves and dirt they track in, we’re sweeping and Swiffering so often that I doubt our floors have ever looked so good! 😉

3) We’ve finally gotten back to our routines around here.  A fun month at the grandparents’ plus Fall Break was enough to offset the boys a touch, but thankfully all is back on schedule now.  I’ve also been able to get up and dressed before they are awake, which is much nicer than running around trying to get myself ready while hoping they’re doing the same.

4 thoughts on “Small Successes — first in November

  1. Thanks for sharing your small successes! I, too, have been trying to get myself ready before the kids are up. The morning seems to go so much more smoothly.

    God bless!

  2. joanallegretti says:

    I love Fall, too, and I bet November in our neck of the woods is different than November in Anne’s, don’t you think? : ) I’m still not even wearing a coat when I go to work, although that might be a little crazy of me. ; )

    A dog from the grocers! I love it!

  3. Haus Frau says:

    Hmm. You make a good point. I am sure November around here is MUCH different than November on PEI. On the other hand, I think I’d still love November because it usually ends in Advent. I couldn’t dislike the month that allows me to begin (legitimately) listening to my 6+ versions of “O Come O Come Emmanuel…” 😉

Leave a Reply

