Soup’s On!

Faith & Family Live! : Curried Chicken Corn Chowder

Posted using ShareThis

Last night I did my menu-planning prior to the week’s grocery run.  I think I have listed five different soups/stews to make this week, which signals that:

SOUP SEASON HAS COMMENCED!

Soup Season is a household tradition that runs from September – Feb/March (depending on how early Spring sets in).  It is the happiest time of the culinary year for me.  I relish a good soup simmering in my stockpot, and the leftovers are easy to reheat and have the next day for lunch (until the boys are teens).   This tradition began early in our marriage, when Haus Meister told me that his favorite foods were the soups and breads his mom would cook.  Of course, he didn’t mean to compare her cooking and mine (and mine wasn’t all that great back then), but I took it upon myself to be a challenge.  And so, I began to scour the ‘Net and old cookbooks for the tried-and-true. Soup Season was born!

The above link takes you to a recipe I’ve been thinking about for days and have on my menu for the coming week.  I smiled when I noticed that Danielle Bean posted it a year ago today.  It’s now a “keeper” in the recipe book.

You might ask what do I do when Soup Season is over?  Quite frankly, I’m lost.  It’s harder for me to plan a Spring/Summer menu.  I may be a little tired of soup when the Spring breezes blow, but by June I’m guaranteed to be itching for the day when I can pull out the soup recipes and stockpots again.

2 thoughts on “Soup’s On!

  1. Elizabeth Butina says:

    Here’s one of my favorite soup recipes–we got it from my grandma (the Italian one, who passed away a few years ago). It’s called Minest (I hope I spelled it right). You take Kielbasa (you could also use Italian sausage, or make little meatballs from beef or pork–any of these would taste good), potatoes, and endive (or I suppose any kind of bitter green–just not belgian endive) and cook them in chicken stock. The nice thing about using kielbasa is that it flavors the whole soup with a salty, garlic kind of taste. If you use something else, you’d need to add more salt and pepper. I just simmer the kielbasa in the broth for a while, and then add potatoes, let that go for 15 minutes, and then add the greens. You can serve it about five minutes later. I like just having it with some Italian bread to soak up the broth. It’s very yummy. I’ve been looking forward to making soups and stews again, too–especially in my crock pot. So easy!

Leave a Reply

