Just like Daddy

Last night Rascal was standing in the hallway whimpering and hugging his teddy bear. I knew he wasn’t hurting or lonely; he had just been told he couldn’t have milk so close to bedtime.

“I want milk. Not water. Milk,” he tells me as I sit down next to him.

I started to repeat what his daddy had just told him when suddenly I had an inspiration.

“You know,” I said, “Mommy and Daddy don’t drink milk right before bed. We drink water, too. So if you drink water right now, you’re really being BIG like Daddy!”

You could almost see the wheels turning in his little head. He grinned hugely, grabbed my hand, and ran to his room where he guzzled the rest of a cup of water. “More!” he demanded, still smiling.

I guess nothing beats being “just like Daddy.”

(Thanks, Guardian Angel)

Leave a Reply

